< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021 DC vs MI: Delhi get over the line against Mumbai in another low scoring encounter

Mumbai’s Batting Collapse Helps Delhi Capitals register another victory in IPL 2021.


Match Summary:

Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians, Indian Premier League 2021

Mumbai Indians 137/9 (20 overs)

Delhi Capitals 138/4 (19.1 overs)

Result: Delhi Capitals won the match by 6 wickets



Match Highlights:

Mumbai Indians won the toss and chose to bat first. Quinton de Kock lost his wicket early on in the innings. Rohit Sharma looked in sublime form and he stitched a partnership of 58 runs for the 2nd wicket with Suryakumar Yadav. Mumbai Indians looked very comfortable at that juncture and looked to score beyond the 190 mark.

However, the wicket of Suryakumar Yadav triggered an unbelievable collapse from the Mumbai Indians side. Rohit Sharma soon followed the suit and perished to Amit Mishra and so did Krunal Pandya and Kieron Pollard. Ishan Kishan and Jayant Yadav showed some promise for a respectful total but both lost their wickets at wrong times. In the end, Mumbai Indians could only manage a total of 137 for 9 in 20 overs.

FALL OF WICKETS - 9-1 (Quinton de Kock, 2.1), 67-2 (Suryakumar Yadav, 6.6), 76-3 (Rohit Sharma, 8.4), 77-4 (Hardik Pandya, 8.6), 81-5 (Krunal Pandya, 10.4), 84-6 (Kieron Pollard, 11.5), 123-7 (Ishan Kishan, 17.3), 129-8 (Jayant Yadav, 18.5), 135-9 (Rahul Chahar, 19.4)

 Chasing 137, Prithvi Shaw lost his wicket to Jayant Yadav in the 2nd over itself. Steven Smith and Shikhar Dhawan combined together for the 2nd wicket and collected 53 runs. This partnership put Mumbai under immense pressure. Kieron Pollard bowled superbly in the 10th over and picked up the prized wicket of Smith. Shikhar Dhawan on the other played flawlessly.

He continued his form and smashed 45 runs before being picked up by Rahul Chahar. Dhawan’s wicket brought twist in the game. Rohit Sharma then brought Jasprit Bumrah back on for the 17th over and he broke the game open by picking up the wicket of Rishabh Pant.  However, Shimron Hetmyer came in at number 6 and smashed a couple of boundaries to ensure Delhi Capitals chased the total comfortably. He remained unbeaten at 14 and hit the winning runs for his team.


FALL OF WICKETS - 11-1 (Prithvi Shaw, 1.3), 64-2 (Steven Smith, 9.2), 100-3 (Shikhar Dhawan, 14.5), 115-4 (Rishabh Pant, 16.5)


Playing XIs


Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Chris Lynn, Saurabh Tiwary, Anmolpreet Singh, Aditya Tare (wk), Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Rahul Chahar, Jayant Yadav, Anukul Roy, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult, Dhawal Kulkarni, Mohsin Khan


Delhi Capitals:  Shreyas Iyer (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoinis, Chris Woakes, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Amit Mishra, Lalit Yadav, Pravin Dubey, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Ishant Sharma, Avesh Khan


Match Details

Start Time: 19:30

Toss: Delhi Capitals won the toss and elected to field first.

Venue: MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai

©Cricket World 2021