< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021: Hyderabad dent Bangalore's progress, register consolation win

Sunrisers Hyderabad dented Royal Challengers Bangalore's progress with a narrow four-run win at the Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

On Wednesday night, Hyderabad posted 141 for seven in their 20 overs and in their response Bangalore fell short finishing on 137 for six in their 20 overs.

Earlier, Jason Roy (44) held the innings together with a brisk approach for Hyderabad. Roy shared a 70-run second wicket stand with captain Kane Williamson (31). But none of the other batsmen made any worthwhile contribution as Hyderabad huffed and puffed their way through their innings. Hyderabad finally ended on 141 for seven in their 20 overs. For Bangalore the main wicket-takers were Harshal Patel (3-33) and Dan Christian (2-14).

In their response, Bangalore lost early wickets as they were whittled down to 38 for three. Opener Devdutt Padikkal (41) tried to hold the innings together. Padikkal added 54 for the fourth wicket with Glenn Maxwell (40) to revive the chase. But thereafter the chase got dented. AB de Villiers came in and tried to take charge but it was too little too late. Shahbaz Ahmed used the long handle to good effect, but despite his efforts Bangalore fell short to finish on 137 for six.

Hyderabad bowlers shared the wickets around. The best bowler on view was the young express fast bowler Umran Malik (1-21). Both sides remained unchanged for the game.

Match details

Sunrisers Hyderbad: 141-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-14 (Abhishek Sharma-1.5 ov), 2-84 (Kane Williamson-11.3 ov), 3-105 (Priyam Garg-14.1 ov), 4-107 (Jason Roy-14.6 ov), 5-107 (Abdul Samad-15.1 ov), 6-124 (Wriddhiman Saha-17.2 ov), 7-141 (Jason Holder-19.6 ov)

Royal Challengers Bangalore: 137-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Virat Kohli-0.6 ov), 2-18 (Dan Christian-3.2 ov), 3-38 (Srikar Bharat-6.5 ov), 4-92 (Glenn Maxwell-14.1 ov), 5-109 (Devdutt Padikkal-16.5 ov), 6-128 (Shahbaz Ahmed-18.4 ov)

Result: Sunrisers Hyderabad won by four runs


Playing XI
Sunrisers Hyderabad: Jason Roy, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Kane Williamson (captain), Priyam Garg, Abhishek Sharma, Abdul Samad, Jason Holder, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddarth Kaul, Umran Malik

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (captain), Devdutt Paddikal, Srikar Bharat (wicket-keeper), Glenn Maxwell, AB de Villiers, Dan Christian, Shahbaz Ahmed, George Garton, Harshal Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj

Match Details
Toss: Royal Challengers Bangalore, elected to bat
Venue: Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi
Start time: 1800 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Sundaram Ravi, Ulhas Gandhe (On-field Umpires); Chris Gaffaney (TV Umpire); Tapan Sharma (Reserve Umpire); Narayanan Kutty (Match-referee)