< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021: Jaiswal, Dube overpower Chennai after Gaikwad ton

Sanju Samson
Sanju Samson
Ruturaj Gaikwad
Ruturaj Gaikwad

Rajasthan Royals overpowered Chennai Super Kings by seven wickets in a high-scoring chase to keep their hopes of making the playoff stage of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

At the Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi, Chennai posted 189 for four in 20 overs. The hero for Chennai was first-time centurion of Ruturaj Gaikwad (101 not out). But Rajasthan chased down the target in 17.3 overs thanks to the blitzkrieg by Yashasvi Jaiswal (50) and Shivam Dube (64 n.o.). Rajasthan ended on 190 for three in 17.3 overs.

Earlier, Chennai after being asked to bat started off confidently. Ruturaj Gaikwad added 47 for the opening wicket with Faf du Plessis. Thereafter, Gaikwad added 57 for the third wicket with Moeen Ali. Towards the end, Gaikwad added 55 for an unbroken fifth wicket stand with Ravindra Jadeja (32 n.o. off 15 balls, 4x4). Gaikwad finally ended unbeaten on 101 off 60 balls with nine boundaries and five sixes. Chennai ended on 189 for four in their 20 overs.

For Rajasthan, the chief wicket-taker was Rahul Tewatia (3-39).

Rajasthan began hecticly as openers Evin Lewis and Yashasvi Jaiswal (50: 21b, 6x4, 3x6) added 77. Then it was the Shivam Dube show as he smoked the Chennai bowlers all over the stadium. Dube added 89 runs for the third wicket with captain Sanju Samson. The Dube-Samson pairing accelerated the chase and helped Rajasthan to overhaul the target in 17.3 overs. Dube finally ended unbeaten on 64 off 42 balls with four boundaries and four sixes.

For Chennai the best bowler was Shardul Thakur (2-30).

Super Kings brought in KM Asif for Deepak Chahar and Sam Curran for Dwayne Bravo. There were five changes for Royals, with Mahipal Lomror, Liam Livingstone, Riyan Parag, Kartik Tyagi and Chris Morris being dropped for Shivam Dube, Glenn Phillips, Akash Singh, David Miller and Mayank Markande.

Match Summary

Chennai Super Kings: 189-4 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-47 (Faf du Plessis-6.5 ov), 2-57 (Suresh Raina-8.3 ov), 3-114 (Moeen Ali-14.3 ov), 4-134 (Ambati Rayudu-16.2 ov)

Rajasthan Royals: 190-3 (17.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-77 (Evin Lewis-5.2 ov), 2-81 (Yashasvi Jaiswal-6.1 ov), 3-170 (Sanju Samson-15.4 ov)

Result: Rajasthan Royals won by seven wickets 


Playing XI
Rajasthan Royals: Evin Lewis, Yashaswi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson (captain & wicket-keeper), Shivam Dube, Glenn Phillips, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Akash Singh, Mayank Markande, Chetan Sakariya, Mustafizur Rahman

Chennai Super Kings: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Moeen Ali, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (captain & wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Curran, Shardul Thakur, KM Asif, Josh Hazlewood

Match details
Toss: Rajasthan Royals, elected to field
Venue: Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi
Start time: 1800 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Chris Gaffaney, Virender Sharma (On-field umpires); Tapan Sharma (TV Umpire); Ulhas Gandhe (Reserve Umpire); Narayanan Kutty (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2021