< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021 KKR v PBKS: Kolkata Knight Riders come out on top in low scoring scrap with Punjab Kings

Kolkata Knight Riders come out on top in a low scoring encounter with Punjab Kings, in Match 21 of the IPL 2021, at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad today.


Match Summary

Punjab Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders, 21st Match, Indian Premier League

Punjab Kings 123/9 (20 ov)

Kolkata Knight Riders 126/5 (16.4 ov)

Result - Kolkata Knight Riders won by 5 wickets




Match Highlights

Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and elected to field first. Lokesh Rahul and Mayank Agarwal started off pretty well and until the 3rd over and Punjab Kings looked dominant. However, after Lokesh Rahul’s dismissal, Punjab Kings simply collapsed and the pitch also started playing its tricks.

Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Deepak Hooda all perished to ordinary deliveries. Nicholas Pooran showed some promise with his knock of 19 runs. He was dismissed in the 15th over and after that Punjab Kings were reeling at 79 for 6.

Chris Jordan came in at number 8 and smashed 30 off just 18 deliveries to take the total to 123 for 9 in 20 overs. Prasidh Krishna picked up 3 wickets for Kolkata Knight Riders.

 PBKS Fall of wickets: 1-36 (Lokesh Rahul - 5.4 ov), 2-38 (Chris Gayle - 6.3 ov), 3-42 (Deepak Hooda - 7.4 ov), 4-60 (Mayank Agarwal - 11.2 ov), 5-75 (Moises Henriques - 13.1 ov), 6-79 (Nicholas Pooran - 14.2 ov), 7-95 (Shahrukh Khan - 17.2 ov), 8-98 (Ravi Bishnoi - 18.1 ov), 9-121 (Chris Jordan - 19.4 ov)

Chasing 123, Kolkata Knight Riders lost early wickets and were reduced to 17 for 3 in the 3rd over. Post that, Rahul Tripathy and Eoin Morgan played with so much ease and slowly caressed the scoreboard forward. Rahul Tripathy scored 41 off 32 deliveries while Eoin Morgan played a captain’s knock of 47 to take Koklkata Knight Riders home by 5 wickets rather comfortably. 

KKR Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Nitish Rana - 0.4 ov), 2-9 (Shubman Gill - 1.5 ov), 3-17 (Sunil Narine - 2.6 ov), 4-83 (Rahul Tripathi - 10.6 ov), 5-98 (Andre Russell - 14.1 ov)

Playing XIs


Punjab Kings - KL Rahul(c)(wk), Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle, Nicholas Pooran, Deepak Hooda, Moises Henriques, Shahrukh Khan, Chris Jordan, Mohammed Shami, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh

Kolkata Knight Riders - Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Eoin Morgan(c), Sunil Narine, Dinesh Karthik(wk), Andre Russell, Pat Cummins, Shivam Mavi, Varun Chakravarthy,Prasidh Krishna


Match Details

Start Time: 15:00

Toss: Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

Officials: Paul Reiffel, Yeshwant Barde, Sundaram Ravi, Anil Dandekar, Prakash Bhatt

©Cricket World 2021