< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021 KKR v RR: Chris Morris 4 wicket haul mauls the Kolkata Knight Riders

Chris Morris shuts up the critics with his 4 wicket haul to maul the Kolkata Knight Riders.


Match Summary:

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajasthan Royals, Indian Premier League 2021

Kolkata Knight Riders 133/9 (20 overs)

Rajasthan Royals 134/4 (18.5 overs)

Result:  Rajasthan Royals won the match by 6 wickets



Match Highlights:

Rajasthan Royals won the toss and elected to field first. Kolkata Knight Riders went through a very slow start by the opening pair Shubman Gill and Nitish Rana. The time taken to settle down did not bring any success to Shubman Gill as he was dismissed by a wonderful piece of fielding by Buttler who had the better of Gill with a direct hit.

Rahul Tripathy played well for his 36 off 26 balls and he was the only one showing intent. Rana was the next one to be dismissed followed by Eoin Morgan. Andre Russell and Pat Cummins failed with the bat as they made 9 and 10 runs respectively.

In the end, Kolkata Knight Riders could only manage 133 for 9 on the board in their 20 overs. Chris Morris top performed for Rajasthan Royals, picking up 4 wickets in the match.


FALL OF WICKETS - 24-1 (Shubman Gill, 5.4), 45-2 (Nitish Rana, 8.1), 54-3 (Sunil Narine, 9.5), 61-4 (Eoin Morgan, 10.2), 94-5 (Rahul Tripathi, 15.2), 117-6 (Andre Russell, 17.4), 118-7 (Dinesh Karthik, 17.6), 133-8 (Pat Cummins, 19.2), 133-9 (Shivam Mavi, 19.6)


Chasing 133, Rajasthan Royals had the first hiccup in the form of Buttler’s dismissal who was cleaned up by Varun Chakravarthy. Yashasvi Jaiswal then paired with Sanju Samson and played some beautiful strokes for his knock of 22 runs. A real boost to the Rajasthan innings came with the partnership of Samson and Shivam Dubey who did not miss out on the loose balls on offer. Sanju Samson remained unbeaten at 42 and played a true captain’s knock to take his team home by 6 wickets.  

FALL OF WICKETS - 21-1 (Jos Buttler, 3.2), 40-2 (Yashasvi Jaiswal, 4.5), 85-3 (Shivam Dubey, 10.5), 100-4 (Rahul Tewatia, 13.4)


Playing XIs

Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson (c&wk), Jos Buttler (wk), Ben Stokes, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Manan Vohra, Anuj Rawat, Riyan Parag, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Mahipal Lomror, Shreyas Gopal, Mayank Markande, Jofra Archer, Andrew Tye, Jaydev Unadkat, Kartik Tyagi

Kolkata Knight Riders: Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Tim Seifert (wk), Rahul Tripathi, Rinku Singh, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Eoin Morgan (c), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Varun CV, Kuldeep Yadav, Pat Cummins, Lockie Ferguson, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Sandeep Warrier, Prasidh Krishna


Match Details

Start Time: 19:30

Toss: Rajasthan Royals won the toss and elected to field first.

Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

©Cricket World 2021