< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021 Match 2 DC v CSK : In high scoring entertainer, Delhi Capitals win by 7 wickets

On the second day of IPL 2021, Delhi Capitals trumped Chennai Super Kings on all fronts to win their first match of the season.


Match Summary

Delhi Capitals vs Chennai Super Kings, 2nd Match, Indian Premier League

Chennai Super Kings 188/7 (20 ov)

Delhi Capitals 190/3 (18.4 ov)

Result – Delhi Capitals won by 7 wickets


Match Highlights

Delhi Capitals won the toss and elected to field first. Chris Woakes and Avesh Khan provided a phenomenal start with the bowl as they removed each of the Chennai openers cheaply. Moeen Ali and Suresh Raina resurrected the innings and scored 36 and 54 runs respectively to ignite the hope for a huge total. MS Dhoni failed miserably with the bat as he was dismissed for a golden duck. However, Sam Curran provided the late burst required in the death overs and smashed 34 off just 15 deliveries to propel the Chennai Super Kings to a total of 188 for 7 in 20 overs.


Fall of Wickets:

7-1 (Faf du Plessis, 1.4), 7-2 (Ruturaj Gaikwad, 2.1), 60-3 (Moeen Ali, 8.3), 123-4 (Ambati Rayudu, 13.5), 136-5 (Suresh Raina, 15.1), 137-6 (MS Dhoni, 15.3), 188-7 (Sam Curran, 19.6)


Chasing 188, Delhi Capitals got off to a flier. Both Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw carted the Chennai bowlers to all parts of the ground. Such was the impact of their 138 run opening partnership that Delhi never looked out of the game. Shaw was dismissed at 72 by DJ Bravo while Dhawan continued to tonk the ball. He played a match winning knock of 85 runs in 54 deliveries before losing is wicket to Shardul Thakur. In the end, Delhi Capitals chased the total comfortably with 7 wickets in hand and 8 balls to spare.  


Fall of Wickets:

138-1 (Prithvi Shaw, 13.3), 167-2 (Shikhar Dhawan, 16.3), 186-3 (Marcus Stoinis, 18.3) 


Playing XIs


Chennai Super Kings: Faf du Plessis, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, N. Jagadeesan (wk), Robin Uthappa, MS Dhoni (c&wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Curran, Dwayne Bravo, Karn Sharma, R. Sai Kishore, Mitchell Santner, Imran Tahir, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Lungi Ngidi, Josh Hazlewood, KM Asif

Delhi Capitals:  Shreyas Iyer (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoinis, Chris Woakes, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Amit Mishra, Lalit Yadav, Pravin Dubey, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Ishant Sharma, Avesh Khan


Match Details

Start Time: 19:30

Toss: Delhi Capitals won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai


©Cricket World 2021