< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021 Match 3:Kolkata Knight Riders beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by 10 runs

In the third match of IPL 2021, Kolkata Knight Riders beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by a margin of 10 runs.


Match Summary:

Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight Riders, Indian Premier League

Kolkata Knight Riders 187/6 (20 overs)

Sunrisers Hyderabad 177/5 (20 overs)

Result: Kolkata Knights Riders won the match by 10 runs.


Match Highlights:

Sunrisers Hyderabad won the toss and invited Kolkata Knight Riders to have a bat first. Nitish Rana went all guns blazing at the top of the order. He stitched a partnership of 93 runs for the 2nd wicket with Rahul Tripathy. Rana made 80 off 56 deliveries while Rahul played a knock of 53 off just 29 balls. A few quick wickets fell in the middle order and we could not see a Morgan or Russell show. However, Dinesh Karthik provided the much needed boost in the death overs with his cameo of 22 in just 9 balls. As a result, Kolkata Knight Riders posted a formidable total of 187 for 6 in 20 overs. Rashid Khan was the pick of the bowlers who picked up 2 wickets for 24 runs in the 4 overs he bowled.



53-1 (Shubman Gill, 6.6), 146-2 (Rahul Tripathi, 15.2), 157-3 (Andre Russell, 16.2), 160-4 (Nitish Rana, 17.3), 160-5 (Eoin Morgan, 17.4), 187-6 (Shakib Al Hasan, 19.6)

 In reply, Sunrisers Hyderabad got off to a terrible start as they lost both Warner and Wriddhiman Saha cheaply. At one point, Sunrisers Hyderabad were reeling at 10 for 2 in the 3rd over. Manish Pandey and Johnny Bairstow tried to steady the ship with their brilliant stand of 92 runs for the 3rd wicket. Sunrisers looked in a very strong position up until that time. However, once Bairstow fell to Pat Cummins, the middle order lost its way. Abdul Samad smashed 19 off 8 balls but the target was looking far out for Sunrisers Hyderabad by that stage. In the end, they ended with a total of 177 for 5 in 20 overs, losing the match by 10 runs.


10-1 (David Warner, 1.3), 10-2 (Wriddhiman Saha, 2.1), 102-3 (Jonny Bairstow, 12.6), 130-4 (Mohammad Nabi, 15.6), 150-5 (Vijay Shankar, 17.6)

Playing XIs


Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (c), Kane Williamson, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Manish Pandey, Sreevats Goswami (wk), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Priyam Garg, Vijay Shankar, Abhishek Sharma, Abdul Samad, Virat Singh, Mitchell Marsh, Jason Holder, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T. Natarajan, Sandeep Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed, Siddarth Kaul, Basil Thampi


Kolkata Knight Riders: Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Tim Seifert (wk), Rahul Tripathi, Rinku Singh, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Eoin Morgan (c), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Varun CV, Kuldeep Yadav, Pat Cummins, Lockie Ferguson, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Sandeep Warrier, Prasidh Krishna


Match Details

Start Time: 19:30

Toss: Sunrisers Hyderabad won the toss and decided to field

Venue: MA Chidambaran Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai.

©Cricket World 2021