< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021 Match 9: Sunrisers Hyderabad choke again as Mumbai Indians win by 13 runs

Once again, the combination of Jasprit Bumrah and Trent Boult bring Sunrisers Hyderabad to its knees from a commanding position.


Match Summary:

Mumbai Indians vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, Indian Premier League 2021

Mumbai Indians 150/5 (20 overs)

Sunrisers Hyderabad 137/10 (19.4 overs)

Result:  Mumbai Indians beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by 13 runs.


Match Highlights:

Mumbai Indians won the toss and elected to have a bat first. They started off very well and collected 53 runs in the powerplay. However, after the powerplay Vijay Shankar was introduced and he picked up an important wicket of Rohit Sharma as he was dismissed for a well made 32 in 25 balls. Suryakumar Yadav showed promising signs when he began the innings on a positive note. He struck Vijay Shankar for a beautiful six towards long off but the very next ball, he gave a simple catch back to the bowler. After his dismissal, Mumbai Indians innings could get nowhere. At one point, it looked difficult for them to even get past 145 but two timely hits by Kieron Pollard on the last 2 deliveries of the innings propelled Mumbai Indians to 150 for 5 in 20 overs. Vijay Shankar and Mujeeb Ur Rahman both picked up 2 wickets each.

Fall of wickets: 1-55 (Rohit Sharma - 6.3 ov), 2-71 (Suryakumar Yadav - 8.3 ov), 3-98 (Quinton de Kock - 13.5 ov), 4-114 (Ishan Kishan - 16.5 ov), 5-131 (Hardik Pandya - 18.4 ov)


Chasing 150, Sunrisers Hyderabad started off very well with the opening pair of David Warner and Johnny Bairstow putting on a stand of 67 runs for the 1st wicket. Sunrisers Hyderabad were looking comfortable with a run a ball required. However, Bairstow’s wicket dented the confidence of Hyderabad and it was followed with a sequence of dismissals in the middle order. The game then floated from favouring one side to the other in a matter of few balls. Vijay Shankar played well for his 28 off 25 balls. He assured Hyderabad that they could still chase it. In the end, it was the duo of Jasprit Bumrah and Trent Boult coupled with a few unfortunate run-outs that determined the winner. Eventually, Hyderabad were bowled out for 137, losing the game from a commanding position.


Fall of Wickets: 67-1 (Jonny Bairstow, 7.2), 71-2 (Manish Pandey, 8.6), 90-3 (David Warner, 11.3), 102-4 (Virat Singh, 14.1), 104-5 (Abhishek Sharma, 14.5), 129-6 (Abdul Samad, 17.4), 130-7 (Rashid Khan, 17.6), 134-8 (Vijay Shankar, 18.5)


Playing XIs


Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Chris Lynn, Saurabh Tiwary, Anmolpreet Singh, Aditya Tare (wk), Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Rahul Chahar, Jayant Yadav, Anukul Roy, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult, Dhawal Kulkarni, Mohsin Khan 

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (c), Kane Williamson, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Manish Pandey, Sreevats Goswami (wk), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Priyam Garg, Vijay Shankar, Abhishek Sharma, Abdul Samad, Virat Singh, Mitchell Marsh, Jason Holder, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T. Natarajan, Sandeep Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed, Siddarth Kaul, Basil Thampi


Match Details

Start Time: 19:30

Toss: Mumbai Indians won the toss and elected to bat first.

Venue: MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai

©Cricket World 2021