< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021 MI v RR: Mumbai Indians steamroll Rajasthan Royals

A Brilliant Team Effort Ensures Mumbai Indians of a comfortable win over Rajasthan Royals

Match Summary

Mumbai Indians 172/3 (18.3 ov)

Rajasthan Royals 171/4 (20 ov)

Mumbai Indians won by 7 wickets


Match Highlights:

Mumbai Indians won the toss and elected to field first. Jos Buttler and Yashasvi Jaiswal got Rajasthan off to a flier as they collected 66 runs for the first wicket partnership. After Jos Buttler was dismissed for 41 by Rahul Chahar, the captain Sanju Samson came to the crease and looked comfortable right from the start.

He ensured that the run rate did not drop despite the fall of a wicket. Captain Samson made 42 off 27 balls. Shivam Dubey also played a wonderful hand in the middle order with his knock of 35 in 31 deliveries. In the end, Rajasthan Royals could manage 171 on the board for the loss of 4 wickets.

FALL OF WICKETS :  66-1 (Jos Buttler, 7.4), 91-2 (Yashasvi Jaiswal, 9.5), 148-3 (Sanju Samson, 17.4), 158-4 (Shivam Dubey, 18.5)


 Mumbai Indians looked dominating right from the beginning of the chase. Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock added 49 runs for the first wicket partnership in 6 overs. Suryakumar Yadav also played fearlessly from the outset of his innings and smashed 16 off 10 balls before perishing to Chris Morris.

Quinton de Kock kept finding the gaps at ease and joined hands with Krunal Pandya to stitch a partnership of 63 runs for the 3rd wicket. Krunal Pandya struck 39 runs at an astonishing strike rate of 150. After his dismissal, the equation came down to 25 needed in 18 balls.

Kieron Pollard came in at number 5 and seemed to be in a hurry to finish the match. He finished unbeaten at 16 to take Mumbai Indians home by 7 wickets to spare. Quinton de Kock stayed unbeaten at 70 off 50 balls and anchored the team towards win.

FALL OF WICKETS :49-1 (Rohit Sharma, 5.6), 83-2 (Suryakumar Yadav, 9.2), 146-3 (Krunal Pandya, 16.4)

Playing XIs

Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson (c&wk), Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Riyan Parag, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Jaydev Unadkat, Chris Morris, Mustafizur Rahman, Shivam Dubey, Chetan Sakaria

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Suryakumar Yadav,  Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Rahul Chahar, Jayant Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult, Nathan Coulter Nile


Match Details

Start Time: 15:30

Toss: Mumbai Indians won the toss and elected to field first.

Venue: Arun Jaitley Stadium, New Delhi

©Cricket World 2021