< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021: Narine spins Bangalore out of tourney

Kolkata Knight Riders beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by four wickets in the eliminator clash, to keep themselves in the hunt for a place in the final of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

In what turned out to be Virat Kohli's last match as Bangalore captain, his side posted 138 for seven in their 20 overs and Kolkata chased down the target in 19.4 overs with four wickets to spare to finish on 139 for six. Kolkata will now play Delhi Capitals on Wednesday in second qualifier for a place in the final.

Earlier, Bangalore after opting to bat posted a modest 138 for seven in their 20 overs. Captain Virat Kohli was the top-scorer for Bangalore with a 33-ball 39. Kohli shared an opening strand of 49 with Devdutt Padikkal. But the rest of the batting line-up did not live upto the challenge of the Kolkata bowling. In particular the magical spell of Sunil Narine who spun a web around the Bangalore batting as they slipped from 69 for one to 112 for five. This really ended the Bangalore challenge as they finished on 138 for seven in their 20 overs.

For Kolkata the best bowler was Narine (4-21) and Lockie Ferguson (2-30) supported him well.

In their chase, Kolkata started off well with their in-form openers Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer starting confidently. There was a brief lull in the innings, but then Narine came in and struck three sixes to calm some frayed nerves. There was another collapse before captain Eoin Morgan and Shakib Al Hasan used their experience to seal the chase.

For Bangalore the key wicket-takers were Harshal Patel (2-19) and Yuzvendra Chahal (2-16).

Match Summary

Royal Challengers Bangalore: 138-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-49 (Devdutt Padikkal-5.1 ov), 2-69 (Srikar Bharat-9.4 ov), 3-88 (Virat Kohli-12.2 ov), 4-102 (AB de Villiers-14.2 ov), 5-112 (Glenn Maxwell-16.4 ov), 6-126 (Shahbaz Ahmed-18.6 ov), 7-134 (Dan Christian-19.4 ov)

Kolkata Knight Riders: 139-6 (19.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-41 (Shubman Gill-5.2 ov), 2-53 (Rahul Tripathi-6.6 ov), 3-79 (Venkatesh Iyer-10.6 ov), 4-110 (Nitish Rana-14.2 ov), 5-125 (Sunil Narine-17.2 ov), 6-126 (Dinesh Karthik-17.4 ov)

Result: Kolkata Knight Riders won by four wickets


Playing XI
Kolkata Knight Riders: Venkatesh Iyer, Shubman Gill, Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Rana, Eoin Morgan (captain), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine, Shivam Mavi, Lockie Ferguson, Varun Chakravarthy

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (captain), Devdutt Padikkal, KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Glenn Maxwell, AB de Villiers, Shahbaz Ahmed, Dan Christian, George Garton, Harshal Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammad Siraj

Match details

Toss: Royal Challengers Bangalore, elected to bat
Venue: Sharjah Cricket Association Stadium, Sharjah
Start time: 1800 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Chris Gaffaney, Virender Sharma (On-field umpires); Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire); Sundaram Ravi (Reserve Umpire); Manu Nayyar (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2021