< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021 Part 2: Chennai race to the top of the points table

Chennai Super Kings reached the top of the table in the Indian Premier League (IPL) with a confident six-wicket win over Royal Challengers Bangalore on Friday night.

At the Sharjah Cricket Stadium in Sharjah, Bangalore posted a modest 156 for six in their 20 overs and in response Chennai chased down the target in 18.1 overs to finish on 157 for four.

Earlier, Bangalore after being asked to bat got off to a fine start as captain Virat Kohli (53: 41b, 6x4, 1x6) and Devdutt Padikkal (70: 50b, 5x4, 3x6) added 111 runs for the opening wicket.

But after that the innings went into a tail spin as the middle-order failed to contribute and the side was restricted to a modest 156 for six in their 20 overs. For Chennai the wicket-takers were Dwayne Bravo (3-24) and Shardul Thakur (2-29).

In their response, Chennai started off well with openers Ruturaj Gaikwad (38) and Faf du Plessis (31) adding 71 for the first wicket. The chase never lost steam but there were useful contributions from Moeen Ali (23) and Ambati Rayudu (32). The target was finally achieved in the 19th over with six wickets to spare.

Harshal Patel with figures of two for 25 was the most successful bowler.

Bangalore made two changes to their XI bringing in Tim David and Navdeep Saini in place of Kyle Jamieson and Sachin Baby. Chennai remain unchanged.

Match Details

Royal Challengers Bangalore: 156-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-111 (Virat Kohli-13.2 ov), 2-140 (AB de Villiers-16.5 ov), 3-140 (Devdutt Padikkal-16.6 ov), 4-150 (Tim David-18.2 ov), 5-154 (Glenn Maxwell-19.2 ov), 6-156 (Harshal Patel-19.6 ov)

Chennai Super Kings: 157-4 (18.1)

Fall of wickets: 1-71 (Ruturaj Gaikwad-8.2 ov), 2-71 (Faf du Plessis-9.1 ov), 3-118 (Moeen Ali-13.6 ov), 4-133 (Ambati Rayudu-15.4 ov)

Result: Chennai Super Kings won by six wickets


Playing XIs

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (captain), Devdutt Padikkal, Srikar Bharat (wicket-keeper), Glenn Maxwell, AB de Villiers, Tim David, Wanindur Hasaranga, Navdeep Saini, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal

Chennai Super Kings: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Moeen Ali, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (captain & wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Josh Hazlewood

Match Details

Toss: Chennai Super Kings, elected to field
Venue: Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah
Start time: 1800 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Anil Chaudhary, Nitin Menon (On-field Umpires); Michael Gough (TV Umpire); Navdeep Singh (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2021