< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021 Part 2: Chennai start campaign with a hard-fought win

Ruturaj Gaikwad
Ruturaj Gaikwad

Chennai Super Kings started their campaign in the second phase of the Indian Premier League (IPL) with a 20-run win over Mumbai Indians at the Dubai International Stadium on Sunday.

IPL 2021 - Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians, Match 30 – September 19th

Chennai batting first posted 156 for seven in their 20 overs and Mumbai Indians fell short by 20 runs to be halted at 136 for eight in their allotted 20 overs.

Earlier, Chennai opted to bat and fought back brilliantly after being reduced to 24 for four. They had even lost Ambati Rayudu to an injury. But opener Rutraj Gaikwad (88: 58b, 9x4, 4x6) led a fine repair job. Gaikwad shared a 81 run fifth wicket stand with Ravindra Jadeja (26). Later, Dwayne Bravo played a terrific cameo of 23 off eight balls. Chennai finished on a high as they ended on 156 for six in their 20 overs.

For Mumbai the key bowlers were Trent Boult (2-35), Adam Milne (2-21), Jasprit Bumrah (2-33).

In their response, Mumbai lost their way quite swiftly. They lost wickets at regular intervals as they switfly went down to 58 for four as the asking rate kept climbing rapidly. Saurabh Tiwary played a lone hand as he tried hold the innings in bain. None of the other batsmen provided Tiwary any support as the match kept slipping out of their hands.

Tiwary finished unbeaten on 50 off 40 balls with five boundaries but it was too little too late.

For Chennai the wicket-takers were Deepak Chahar (2-19) and Dwayne Bravo (3-25).

Mumbai played the match without their captain Rohit Sharma and Kieron Pollard led the side in his absence, whereas Chennai were almost at full strength.

Match Summary

Chennai Super Kings: 156-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Faf du Plessis-0.5 ov), 2-2 (Moeen Ali-1.3 ov), 2-3* (Ambati Rayudu-retired hurt), 3-7 (Suresh Raina-2.6 ov), 4-24 (MS Dhoni-5.6 ov), 5-105 (Ravindra Jadeja-16.4 ov), 6-144 (Dwayne Bravo-19.2 ov)

Mumbai Indians: 136-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-18 (Quinton de Kock-2.2 ov), 2-35 (Anmolpreet Singh-4.6 ov), 3-37 (Suryakumar Yadav-5.4 ov), 4-58 (Ishan Kishan-9.2 ov), 5-87 (Kieron Pollard-13.1 ov), 6-94 (Krunal Pandya-14.4 ov), 7-134 (Adam Milne-19.2 ov), 8-135 (Rahul Chahar-19.4 ov)


Playing XI

Chennai Super Kings: Faf du Plessis, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Moeen Ali, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, MS Dhoni (captain & wicket-keeper), Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Josh Hazlewood

Mumbai Indians: Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Anmolpreet Singh, Saurabh Tiwary, Kieron Pollard (captain), Krunal Pandya, Adam Milne, Rahul Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult

Match Details

Start Time: 15:00 hrs UAE time

Toss: Chennai Super Kings won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai

Match Officials: Nitin Menon, Richard Illingworth (On-field umpires); Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire); Anil Dandekar (Fourth Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2021