< >
Cricket Betting us

IPL 2021 Part 2: Delhi race back to the top of the table

Sunrisers Hyderabad and Delhi Capitals
Sunrisers Hyderabad and Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals was back at the top of the points table with an impressive eight wicket win over Sunrisers Hyderabad in the second phase of the Indian Premier League.

At the Dubai International Stadium on Wednesday night, Hyderabad after opting to bat could post only 134 for nine in their 20 overs. In their response Delhi chased down the target in 17.5 overs with eight wickets to spare to finish on 139 for two.

Earlier, Hyderabad got off to the worst possible start losing former captain David Warner in the very first over. Thereafter despite captain Kane Williamson attempting to hold the innings together first with Wriddhiman Saha and then Manish Pandey, Hyderabad lost their way. It was only towards the end as Abdul Samad (28) used the long handle to good effect in the company of Rashid Khan who managed a brisk 22. Hyderabad finished on a timid note.

For Delhi the key wicket-takers were Kagiso Rabada (3-37), Axar Patel (2-21) and Anrich Nortje (2-12).

Delhi began aggressively in their chase. Opener Shikhar Dhawan struck 42 off 37 balls with six boundaries and a six. Dhawan shared a 52 run second wicket stand with Shreyas Iyer (47 n.o.: 41b, 2x4, 2x6) to put the innings on track. Later, Iyer shared a third wicket unbroken stand of 67 with captain Rishabh Pant (35 n.o.) to seal the chase in the 18th over.

For Hyderabad the wicket-takers were Khaleel Ahmed (1-33) and Rashid Khan (1-26).

Match Summary

Sunrisers Hyderabad: 134-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (David Warner-0.3 ov), 2-29 (Wriddhiman Saha-4.6 ov), 3-60 (Kane Williamson-9.5 ov), 4-61 (Manish Pandey-10.1 ov), 5-74 (Kedar Jadhav-12.6 ov), 6-90 (Jason Holder-15.1 ov), 7-115 (Abdul Samad-18.2 ov), 8-133 (Rashid Khan-19.4 ov), 9-134 (Sandeep Sharma-19.6 ov)

Delhi Capitals: 139-2 (17.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-20 (Prithvi Shaw-2.5 ov), 2-72 (Shikhar Dhawan-10.5 ov)

Result: Delhi Capitals won by eight wickets

Playing XI
Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson (captain), Kedar Jadhav, Abdul Samad, Jason Holder, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sandeep Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed

Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (captain & wicket-keeper), Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetmyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandrah Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Avesh Khan


Match details
Toss: Sunrisers Hyderabad, elected to bat
Start time: 1800 hrs UAE time
Match officials: KN Ananthapadmanabhan, Richard Illingworth (On-field Umpires); Jayaraman Madanagopal (TV Umpire); Krishnamachari Srinivasan (Reserve Umpire); Manu Nayyar (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2021