< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021 Part 2: Kolkata ground Mumbai, move into top four

Eoin Morgan
Eoin Morgan

Kolkata Knight Riders moved into the top four position in the points table for the Indian Premier League (IPL) with a comprehensive seven wicket win over Mumbai Indians.

At the Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi, Kolkata opted to field and restricted Mumbai to 155 for six in their 20 overs. In their response, Kolkata chased down the target in 15.1 overs with seven wickets to spare to finish on 159 for three.

Earlier, Mumbai got off to a fine start thanks to their returning captain Rohit Sharma (33) and Quinton de Kock (55: 42b, 4x4, 3x6) who put on 78 for the opening wicket. But thereafter the rest of the batting caved in without much of a fight in the face of sustained pressure from Kolkata bowlers. The best Kolkata bowlers were Prasidh Krishna (2-43) and Lockie Ferguson (2-27).

In their chase, Kolkata lost Shubman Gill early, but Venkatesh Iyer struck 53 off just 30 deliveries with four boundaries and three sixes. Iyer put on 88 for the second wicket with Rahul Tripathi (74 n.o.: 42b, 8x4, 3x6). The chase was completed in the 16th over as Kolkata romped home in style. The only good news for Mumbai was that Bumrah picked up three for 43.

Match Summary

Mumbai Indians: 155-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-78 (Rohit Sharma-9.2 ov), 2-89 (Suryakumar Yadav-12.1 ov), 3-106 (Quinton de Kock-14.5 ov), 4-119 (Ishan Kishan-16.2 ov), 5-149 (Kieron Pollard-19.2 ov), 6-149 (Krunal Pandya-19.3 ov)

Kolkata Knight Riders: 159-3 (15.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-40 (Shubman Gill-2.6 ov), 2-128 (Venkatesh Iyer-11.4 ov), 3-147 (Eoin Morgan-14.1 ov)

Result: Kolkata won by seven wickets 


Playing XI
Kolkata Knight Riders: Shubman Gill, Venkatesh Iyer, Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Rana, Eoin Morgan (captain), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Lockie Ferguson, Prasidh Krishna, Varun Chakravarthy

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Kieron Pollard, Saurabh Tiwary, Krunal Pandya, Adam Milne, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah

Match details
Toss: Kolkata Knight Riders, elected to field
Venue: Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi
Start time: 1800 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Sundaram Ravi, Virender Sharma (On-field umpires); Chris Gaffaney (TV Umpire); Tapan Sharma (Reserve Umpire); Narayanan Kutty (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2021