< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021 PBKS vs DC - Delhi Capitals muscle out Punjab Kings by 7 wickets

Rabada's Precision and Dhawan's consistency hand Delhi Capitals their 5th win of the season


Match Summary

Punjab Kings 166/6 (20 overs)

Delhi Capitals 167/3 (17.5 overs)

Result: Delhi Capitals beat Punjab Kings by 7 wickets



Match Highlights:

Delhi Capitals won the toss and elected to field first. Prabhsimran Singh failed yet again at the top order as he was dismissed at 12 by Kagiso Rabada. Chris Gayle at number 3 hit a couple of boundaries to begin with but was cleaned up by Rabada in the 6th over.

Mayank Agarwal put a big prize to his wicket and ensured that he crawled along in the middle overs. Punjab Kings kept losing wickets at important occasions. Deepak Hooda, Shahrukh Khan and Chris Jordan all persihed to ordinary deliveries.

Mayank Agarwal was the lone warrior as he fully utilized the death overs and took Punjab Kings to a defendable total of 166 for 6 in 20 overs. Kagiso Rabada was the top performer with the ball as he took 3 wickets for 36 runs in his spell of 4 overs.

 FALL OF WICKETS: 17-1 (Prabhsimran Singh, 3.3), 35-2 (Chris Gayle, 5.2), 87-3 (Dawid Malan, 13.1), 88-4 (Deepak Hooda, 13.3), 129-5 (Shahrukh Khan, 17.2), 143-6 (Chris Jordan, 18.6)

Chasing 166, Delhi Capitals were fearless right from the moment go as their openers fetched 63 runs off 37 balls for the opening partnership. Prithvi Shaw lost his wicket after scoring 39 off just 22 balls.

Shikhar Dhawan continued to steer the chase and made sure he remained there until the end. There was a twist in the tale with the dismissal of Steven Smith but Pant had already studied the game prior to his arrival at the crease and followed the aggressive route to take his team home.

In the end, Shimron Hetmyer played a wonderful cameo of 16 runs in 4 balls to take Delhi Capitals home by 7 wickets. Shikhar Dhawan remained unbeaten at 69 off 47 deliveries.

FALL OF WICKETS: 63-1 (Prithvi Shaw, 6.1), 111-2 (Steven Smith, 12.6), 147-3 (Rishabh Pant, 16.3)


Playing XIs

Punjab Kings: Mayank Agarwal (c), Chris Gayle, Shahrukh Khan, Prabsimran Singh(wk), Deepak Hooda, Ravi Bishnoi, Harpreet Brar, Mohammed Shami, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Riley Meredith

Delhi Capitals: Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Steve Smith, Rishabh Pant (c and wk), Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, Lalit Yadav, Kagiso Rabada, Ishant Sharma, Avesh Khan


Match Details

Start Time: 19:30

Toss:  Delhi Capitals won the toss and elected to field first.

Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad, Gujarat.

©Cricket World 2021