< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021 Phase Two: Delhi go top of the table with easy win

Delhi Capitals
Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals registered a comfortable 33 run win over Rajasthan Royals in the second phase of the Indian Premier League (IPL) at the Zayed Cricket Stadium at Abu Dhabi to reach the top of the table.

After being asked to bat Delhi posted 154 for six in their 20 overs and in response Rajasthan finished on 121 for six in 20 overs.

Delhi made one change to their line-up bringing in Lalit Yadav in place of Marcus Stoinis. Delhi's innings was held together by Shreyas Iyer (43). He shared a crucial 62 run stand for the third wicket with Rishabh Pant (24). Later, Shimron Hetmyer played a fine cameo of 28 off 16 balls. Delhi finished on 154 for six in their 20 overs.

For Rajasthan the wicket-takers were Mustafizur Rhman (2-22) and Chetan Sakariya (2-33).

The chase for Rajasthan was held together by skipper Sanju Samson (70 n.o.: 53b, 8x4, 1x6). None of the other batsmen provided any support after they lost the top-order to be reduced to 17 for three. The innings never really took off and the chase got stuck in quick sand. The innings ended on 121 for six in their 20 overs.

For Delhi, the key wicket-taker was Anrich Nortje (2-18).

Match Summary
Delhi Capitals: 154-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-18 (Shikhar Dhawan-3.1 ov), 2-21 (Prithvi Shaw-4.1 ov), 3-83 (Rishabh Pant-11.4 ov), 4-90 (Shreyas Iyer-13.2 ov), 5-121 (Shimron Hetmyer-16.3 ov), 6-142 (Axar Patel-18.2 ov)

Rajasthan Royals: 121-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Liam Livingstone-0.6 ov), 2-6 (Yashasvi Jaiswal-1.1 ov), 3-17 (David Miller-4.2 ov), 4-48 (Mahipal Lomror-10.2 ov), 5-55 (Riyan Parag-11.5 ov), 6-99 (Rahul Tewatia-17.2 ov)

Result: Delhi Capitals won by 33 runs

Playing XI
Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (captain & wicket-keeper), Shimron Hetmyer, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Avesh Khan

Rajasthan Royals: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson (captain & wicket-keeper), Liam Livingstone, David Miller, Mahipal Lomror, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Kartik Tyagi, Chetan Sakariya, Mustafizur Rahman, Tabraiz Shamsi


Match Details
Toss: Rajasthan Royals, elected to field
Venue: Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi
Start time: 1400 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Chris Gaffaney, Ulhas Gandhe (On-field umpires); Sundaram Ravi (TV Umpire); Tapan Sharma (Reserve Umpire); Narayanan Kutty (Match-referee)