< >
Cricket Betting us

IPL 2021 Phase Two: Harshal, Maxwell, Chahal star in Bangalore's massive win

Royal Challengers Bangalore put their campaign back on track with a massive 54 run win over Mumbai Indians at the Dubai International Stadium on Sunday.

Asked to bat, Bangalore posted 165 for six and in response Mumbai was bowled out for 111. Mumbai is now in seventh position and Bangalore is still going strong at third place.

Earlier, captain Virat Kohli (51: 42b, 3x4, 3x6) held the innings together with his second successive half-century. Kohli shared a 68 run second wicket stand with Srikar Bharat (32). Then Glenn Maxwell took over as he struck at will and in reverse gear. Maxwell struck 56 off 37 balls with six boundaries and three sixes. Towards the end Bangalore lost wickets, but still finished on 165 for six in their 20 overs.

Jasprit Bumrah was Mumbai's best bowler with figures of three for 36.

In their chase, Mumbai got off to a good start with Rohit Sharma (43) and Quinton de Kock (24) adding 57. Thereafter the rest of the line-up just caved in without a fight. First Glenn Maxwell (2-23) and Yuzvendra Chahal (3-11) had Mumbai in a spin. Then, Harshal Patel claimed a hat-trick dismissing Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard and Rahul Chahar in the 17th over. Patel is now the clear leader in the purple cap standings. Patel with fgures of four for 17 was the best bowler for Bangalore.

Earlier, Hardik returned for Mumbai in place of Saurabh Tiwary. On the other hand, Bangalore made three changes bringing in Kyle Jamieson, Daniel Christian and Shahbaz Ahmed in, in place of Navdeep Saini, Tim David and Wanindu Hasaranga.

Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 54 runs against Mumbai Indians at the Dubai International Stadium, Dubai in Match No.39 of the VIVO Indian Premier League (IPL), 2021.

Credit: IPL

Match Summary

Royal Challengers Bangalore: 165-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Devdutt Padikkal-1.4 ov), 2-75 (Srikar Bharat-8.5 ov), 3-126 (Virat Kohli-15.5 ov), 4-161 (Glenn Maxwell-18.3 ov), 5-161 (AB de Villiers-18.4 ov), 6-162 (Shahbaz Ahmed-19.2 ov)

Mumbai Indians: 111 (18.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-57 (Quinton de Kock-6.4 ov), 2-79 (Rohit Sharma-9.6 ov), 3-81 (Ishan Kishan-10.3 ov), 4-93 (Krunal Pandya-13.1 ov), 5-97 (Suryakumar Yadav-14.1 ov), 6-106 (Hardik Pandya-16.1 ov), 7-106 (Kieron Pollard-16.2 ov), 8-106 (Rahul Chahar-16.3 ov), 9-111 (Jasprit Bumrah-17.3 ov), 10-111 (Adam Milne-18.1 ov)

Result: Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 54 runs


Playing XI
Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Adam Milne, Rahul Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (captain), Devdutt Padikkal, Srikar Bharat (wicket-keeper), Glenn Maxwell, AB de Villiers, Shahbaz Ahmed, Daniel Christian, Kyle Jamieson, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal

Match details

Toss: Mumbai Indians, elected to field
Venue: Dubai International Stadium, Dubai
Start time: 1800 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Anil Chaudhary, Michael Gough (On-field Umpires); Nitin Menon (TV Umpire); Saiyed Khalid (Reserve Umpire); Manu Nayyar (Match-referee)