< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021: Plucky Mumbai end on a high, but still exit

Ishan Kishan (Mumbai Indians)
Ishan Kishan (Mumbai Indians)
Jason Holder (Sunrisers Hyderabad)
Jason Holder (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Mumbai Indians ended their campaign in the Indian Premier League 2021 edition on a high with a 42-run win over Sunrisers Hyderabad, but still could not manage to make it to the playoff stage.

Mumbai batting first posted a massive 235 for nine in their 20 overs, but Hyderabad failed to chase it down as they finished on 193 for eight.

Earlier, Mumbai fortunately won the toss to keep their hopes alive. They did everything they could to post a massive score. First opener Ishan Kishan blasted 84 off just 32 balls with 11 boundaries and four sixes. Kishan added 80 for the opening wicket with skipper Rohit Sharma. Then it was the Suryakumar Yadav show. SKY as he is known smoked 82 off just 40 balls with 13 boundaries and three sixes. He carried the Mumbai total to an impregnable 235 for nine. Mumbai had to post a massive total and then win by a margin of 170 runs or more. If they had fielded first, they would have been out of the competition right at the toss.

Despite the carnage Jason Holder was the best with the ball (4-52). Rashid Khan (2-40) and Abhishek Sharma (2-4) were the other wicket-takers.

In their chase, without their regular skipper Hyderabad made a gallant effort. Jason Roy and Abhishek Sharma added 64 in the powerplay. Thereafter, the innings lost momentum with only stand-in skipper Manish Pandey playing a valiant 41-ball 69 with two sixes and seven boundaries. Pandey remained unbeaten, his stand of 56 for the fifth wicket with Priyam Garg saved face for a bit, but not for long. In the end Hyderabad finished on 193 for eight.

For Mumbai the chief wicket-takers were Jasprit Bumrah (2-39), Nathan Coulter-Nile (2-40) and Jimmy Neesham (2-28).

Mumbai made two changes bringing in Krunal Pandya and Piyush Chawla for Saurabh Tiwary and Jayant Yadav. On the other hand, Kane Williamson with an injured elbow made way for Mohammed Nabi, whereas an unfit Bhuvneshwar Kumar also sat out.

Match Summary

Mumbai Indians: 235-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-80 (Rohit Sharma-5.3 ov), 2-113 (Hardik Pandya-8.3 ov), 3-124 (Ishan Kishan-9.1 ov), 4-151 (Kieron Pollard-12.5 ov), 5-151 (James Neesham-12.6 ov), 6-184 (Krunal Pandya-15.3 ov), 7-206 (Nathan Coulter-Nile-17.2 ov), 8-230 (Piyush Chawla-19.1 ov), 9-230 (Suryakumar Yadav-19.4 ov)

Sunrisers Hyderabad: 193-8 (20)

Fall of wickets: 1-64 (Jason Roy-5.2 ov), 2-79 (Abhishek Sharma-6.6 ov), 3-97 (Mohammad Nabi-8.3 ov), 4-100 (Abdul Samad-9.1 ov), 5-156 (Priyam Garg-15.1 ov), 6-166 (Jason Holder-16.1 ov), 7-177 (Rashid Khan-17.2 ov), 8-182 (Wriddhiman Saha-18.4 ov)

Result: Mumbai Indians won by 42 runs


Playing XI
Sunrisers Hyderabad: Jason Roy, Abhishek Sharma, Manish Pandey (captain), Priyam Garg, Abdul Samad, 6 Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Jason Holder, Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, Siddarth Kaul, Umran Malik

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), 2 Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, James Neesham, Krunal Pandya, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Piyush Chawla, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult

Match details
Toss: Mumbai Indians, elected to bat
Venue: Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi
Start time: 1800 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Tapan Sharma, Virender Sharma (On-field Umpires); Sundaram Ravi (TV Umpire); Ulhas Gandhe (Reserve Umpire); Narayanan Kutty (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2021