< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021 RR v CSK Match 12: Super, Super, Super Kings sink Royals

A complete Team performance by the Chennai Super Kings sunk the Rajasthan Royals today at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

Match Summary:

Rajasthan Royals vs Chennai Super Kings, Indian Premier League 2021

Chennai Super Kings 188/9 (20 overs)

Rajasthan Royals 143/9 (20 overs)

Result:  Chennai Super Kings won the match by 45 runs



Match Highlights:

Rajasthan Royals won the toss and elected to field first. Chennai Super Kings lost their opener Ruturaj Gayakwad early on in the innings. Gayakwad’s forgettable campaign in IPL 2021 continued and he failed once again to provide a commanding start to his team. Faf Du Plessis on the other hand did not take long to get going and smashed 33 runs in 17 balls before falling prey to Chris Morris. The middle order including Moeen Ali, Suresh Raina and Ambati Rayadu all had brilliant starts but could not convert them into a bigger score. Losing wickets at important occasions did not help Chennai either.

This put too much pressure on to the lower middle order including MS Dhoni. Ravindra Jadeja and MS Dhoni tried to revive the innings by picking up gaps and finding the extra runs in the form of doubles. However, the boundaries had dried up and it lured the batters to play rash shots.  Dhoni’s stay at the crease was shortened by Chetan Sakaria who dismissed the big fish for 18. Dwayne Bravo and Sam Curran provided some timely blows in the 18th and the 19th over and ignited hope for a big total. Mustafizur Rahman was handled the responsibility to bowl the final over of the innings. He gave away 15 runs in the over and Chennai Super Kings reached a competitive total of 188 for 9 in 20 overs.


FALL OF WICKETS - 25-1 (Ruturaj Gaikwad, 3.5), 45-2 (Faf du Plessis, 5.4), 78-3 (Moeen Ali, 9.2), 123-4 (Ambati Rayudu, 13.2), 125-5 (Suresh Raina, 13.5), 147-6 (MS Dhoni, 17.2), 163-7 (Ravindra Jadeja, 18.3), 173-8 (Sam Curran, 19.1), 180-9 (Shardul Thakur, 19.4)



Chasing 188, Rajasthan Royals started off quite well with both the openers finding early boundaries. Manan Vohra was dismissed by the English sensation Sam Curran for 14. He also accounted for the big wicket of Sanju Samson in the 6th over. Rajasthan Royals were really struggling up until that point. Jos Buttler continued to toy with the fielders by finding gaps at ease.

He reverse swept Ravindra Jadeja for 2 consecutive boundaries and Chennai could smell the threat. Buttler and Shivam Dubey were involved in an important partnership of 42 runs for the 3rd wicket. A turnaround happened in the 12th over when Ravindra Jadeja accounted for the wickets of Jos Buttler and Shivam Dubey in the same over to put Rajasthan under extreme pressure.

Post that, wickets kept falling as Rajasthan batters simply gave their wickets away by playing adventurous shots. Rahul Tewatia and Jaidev Unadkat combined together for the 8th wicket and put on a stand of 42 runs. However, it was too late by then as Chennai had all possibilities under control by then. In the end, Rajasthan Royals managed 143 for 9 in 20 overs, losing the match by 45 runs.


FALL OF WICKETS - 30-1 (Manan Vohra, 3.5), 45-2 (Sanju Samson, 5.5), 87-3 (Jos Buttler, 11.1), 90-4 (Shivam Dubey, 11.6), 92-5 (David Miller, 12.5), 95-6 (Riyan Parag, 14.1), 95-7 (Chris Morris, 14.3), 137-8 (Rahul Tewatia, 18.6), 143-9 (Jaydev Unadkat, 19.2)



Playing XIs


Chennai Super Kings: Faf du Plessis, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, N. Jagadeesan (wk), Robin Uthappa, MS Dhoni (c&wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Curran, Dwayne Bravo, Karn Sharma, R. Sai Kishore, Mitchell Santner, Imran Tahir, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Lungi Ngidi, Josh Hazlewood, KM Asif

Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson (c&wk), Jos Buttler (wk), Ben Stokes, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Manan Vohra, Anuj Rawat, Riyan Parag, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Mahipal Lomror, Shreyas Gopal, Mayank Markande, Jofra Archer, Andrew Tye, Jaydev Unadkat, Kartik Tyagi


Match Details

Start Time: 19:30

Toss: Rajasthan Royals won the toss and elected to field first.

Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

©Cricket World 2021