< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021 SRH v DC: Delhi Capitals win last ball super over thriller against Sunrisers Hyderabad

A Highly Entertaining Thriller Ends in a Super Over Win for Delhi Capitals

Match Summary:

Delhi Capitals vs Sunrisers Hyderabad Indian Premier League 2021

Delhi Capitals 159/4 (20 overs), 8/0 (Super Over)

Sunrisers Hyderabad 159/7 (20 overs), 7/0 (Super Over)

Result: Delhi Capitals won the match in the Super over



Match Highlights:

Delhi Capitals won the toss and elected to field first. The opening pair of Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw got Delhi Capitals off to a flier and added 81 runs for the first wicket partnership. Both Dhawan and Shaw were dismissed in a span of 1 over. Dhawan made 28 off 26 deliveries while Shaw scored 53 off 39 balls.

Rishabh Pant in the middle order played a captain’s knock of 37 in 27 balls. Delhi Capitals slowed down after the 15th over and the projected total came down from 180+ to 160+. Steve Smith remained unbeaten at 34 to take the total to 159 for 4 in 20 overs.  

FALL OF WICKETS - 81-1 (Shikhar Dhawan, 10.2), 84-2 (Prithvi Shaw, 11.3), 142-3 (Rishabh Pant, 18.2), 145-4 (Shimron Hetmyer, 18.6)

Chasing 159, Johnny Bairstow thought aggression is the way into the game and smashed the Delhi bowlers to all parts of the ground for his 38 in just 18 balls. He was dismissed by Avesh Khan while David Warner lost his wicket to a run out. Just when Sunrisers Hyderabad were feeling under pressure, the cool Kane Williamson ensured there was no fuss in the middle overs.

Axar Patel brought twist to the contest in the 17th over when he picked up wickets on consecutive deliveries. Kane Williamson kept moving the scoreboard along while wickets were falling at the other end. The equation was reduced to 16 needed off 6 balls. Williamson struck Rabada for a boundary on the first ball and set an optimistic mood to the last over.

The real game changer was the maximum from Jagadeesha Suchith on the 3rd ball of the over. However, Rabada kept his cool and managed to get the game tied.


FALL OF WICKETS - 28-1 (David Warner, 3.2), 56-2 (Jonny Bairstow, 5.4), 84-3 (Virat Singh, 11.2), 104-4 (Kedar Jadhav, 14.2), 117-5 (Abhishek Sharma, 16.1), 117-6 (Rashid Khan, 16.2), 136-7 (Vijay Shankar, 18.3)



Super Over:

 Sunrisers Hyderabad sent in David Warner and Kane Williamson to bat for the super over. Axar Patel was given the ball. David Warner missed out on a couple of deliveries and the pressure was on Kane Williamson to deliver but he couldn’t. In the end, they managed to post a target of 8 runs for Delhi Capitals.

Dhawan and Pant came in to bat for Delhi Capitals while Rashid Khan was handed out the ball. Rashid bowled beautifully with the Delhi batters missing out on many balls. Both Dhawan and Pant however did not miss out on any opportunity for a single and that was the strategy that won Delhi the game in the end.



Playing XIs


Delhi Capitals: Shreyas Iyer (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoinis, Chris Woakes, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Amit Mishra, Lalit Yadav, Pravin Dubey, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Ishant Sharma, Avesh Khan

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (c), Kane Williamson, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Manish Pandey, Sreevats Goswami (wk), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Priyam Garg, Vijay Shankar, Abhishek Sharma, Abdul Samad, Virat Singh, Mitchell Marsh, Jason Holder, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T. Natarajan, Sandeep Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed, Siddarth Kaul, Basil Thampi


Match Details

Start Time: 1930

Toss: Delhi Capitals won the toss and elected to field first

Venue: MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai

©Cricket World 2021