< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2021 SRH v PBKS: Punjab Kings surrender to bowling might of Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers celebrate a wicket
Sunrisers celebrate a wicket

Punjab Kings surrendered to the bowling might of Sunrisers Hyderabad, as they lose out by the huge margin of 9 wickets.


Match Summary:

Delhi Capitals vs Punjab Kings, Indian Premier League 2021

Punjab Kings 120/10 (19.4 overs)

Sunrisers Hyderabad 121/1 (18.5 overs)

Result: Sunrisers Hyderabad won the match by 9 wickets



Match Highlights:

Punjab Kings won the toss and elected to bat first. KL Rahul lost his wicket early on to Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Mayank Agarwal and Chris Gayle tried to resurrect the innings with a partnership of 24 runs for the 2nd wicket. However, there was no momentum going into the partnership and it put pressure on to the middle order. Nicholas Pooran also disappointed as he ran himself out without facing a single delivery. Except Shahrukh Khan who smashed 22 runs off 17 deliveries, no other Punjab batter posed any threat to the opposition. In the end, Punjab Kings were bowled out for 120 in the 20th over.


FALL OF WICKETS - 15-1 (Lokesh Rahul, 3.1), 39-2 (Mayank Agarwal, 6.6), 39-3 (Nicholas Pooran, 7.1), 47-4 (Chris Gayle, 8.4), 63-5 (Deepak Hooda, 11.3), 82-6 (Moises Henriques, 13.4), 101-7 (Fabian Allen, 16.4), 110-8 (Shahrukh Khan, 18.1), 114-9 (Murugan Ashwin, 19.1), 120-10 (Mohammed Shami, 19.4


Sunrisers Hyderabad were very clinical during the chase and ensured they did not gift away their wickets to the opposition. The opening pair of David Warner and Johnny Bairstow put on a match winning stand of 73 runs for the 1st wicket. After the dismissal of David Warner, Bairstow joined hands with Kane Williamson to slowly drag Hyderabad towards the target. Bairstow looked in sublime touch as he finished with an unbeaten 63 off 56 balls to win the game for Sunrisers Hyderabad by 9 wickets.


FALL OF WICKETS - 73-1 (David Warner, 10.1)



Playing XIs

Punjab Kings: KL Rahul (c&wk), Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle, Mandeep Singh, Prabsimran Singh, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Sarfaraz Khan, Deepak Hooda, Murugan Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Harpreet Brar, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh, Ishan Porel, Darshan Nalkande, Chris Jordan

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (c), Kane Williamson, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Manish Pandey, Sreevats Goswami (wk), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Priyam Garg, Vijay Shankar, Abhishek Sharma, Abdul Samad, Virat Singh, Mitchell Marsh, Jason Holder, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T. Natarajan, Sandeep Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed, Siddarth Kaul, Basil Thampi


Match Details

Start Time: 15:30

Toss: Punjab Kings won the toss and elected to bat first.

Venue: MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai.

©Cricket World 2021