< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2022 Match 10: Gill, Ferguson star in Gujarat's impressive win

Gujarat Titans successfully defended and held off Delhi Capitals' challenge to register its second win in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022. Titans beat Capitals by 14 runs at the MCA Stadium in Pune on Saturday night.

Asked to bat first Gujarat posted 171 for six in their 20 overs. In their response Delhi finished on 157 for nine in their 20 overs.

Earlier, Gujarat were at 44 for two when Shubman Gill joined forces with captain Hardik Pandya. Together they added 65 runs for the third wicket.

Pandya fell for 31 off 27 balls with four boundaries. Gill carried on and finally fell for 84 off just 46 balls. Gill struck six boundaries and four sixes.

Towards the end, Gujarat lost a few wickets, but David Miller used the long handle to good effect. In the end Gujarat finished on 171 for six in their 20 overs.

For Delhi the wicket-takers were Mustafizur Rahman (3-23) and Khaleel Ahmed (2-34).

In their response, Delhi slipped to 34 for three. Then, captain Rishabh Pant and Lalit Yadav added 61 runs for the fourth wicket. But after Yadav fell, Pant could not last longer and fell for 43 off 29 balls with seven boundaries. Rovman Powell did try to strike big, but did not have much support. In the end, Delhi finished on 157 for nine.

For Gujarat the two main wicket-takers were Lockie Ferguson (4-28) and Mohammed Shami (2-30).

Match Summary

Gujarat Titans: 171-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Matthew Wade-0.3 ov), 2-44 (Vijay Shankar-6.1 ov), 3-109 (Hardik Pandya-13.6 ov), 4-145 (Shubman Gill-17.1 ov), 5-168 (Rahul Tewatia-19.2 ov), 6-170 (Abhinav Manohar-19.5 ov)

Delhi Capitals: 157-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Tim Seifert-1.1 ov), 2-32 (Prithvi Shaw-4.1 ov), 3-34 (Mandeep Singh-4.5 ov), 4-95 (Lalit Yadav-11.4 ov), 5-118 (Rishabh Pant-14.1 ov), 6-126 (Axar Patel-14.5 ov), 7-134 (Shardul Thakur-15.6 ov), 8-143 (Rovman Powell-17.2 ov), 9-143 (Khaleel Ahmed-17.3 ov)

Result: Gujarat Titans won by 14 runs 


Playing XI
Gujarat Titans: Shubman Gill, Matthew Wade (wicket-keeper), Vijay Shankar, Abhinav Manohar, Hardik Pandya (captain), David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Varun Aaron, Lockie Ferguson, Mohammed Shami

Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, Tim Seifert, Mandeep Singh, Rishabh Pant (captain & wicket-keeper), Rovman Powell, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman

Match Details
Toss: Delhi Capitals, elected to field
Venue: MCA Stadium, Pune
Start time: 1500 hrs GMT
Match officials: KN Ananthapadmanabhan, Ulhas Gandhe (On-fied Umpires); Bruce Oxenford (TV Umpire); Vinod Seshan (Reserve Umpire); Shakti Singh (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022