< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2022 Match 2: Patel, Yadav team up for Delhi's fine win

Delhi Capitals got off to a fine start in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 edition with a four-wicket win over Mumbai Indians at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai.

On Sunday, Mumbai after being asked to bat posted 177 for five in their 20 overs. In their response, Delhi chased down the target in 18.2 overs to finish on 179 for six.

Earlier, Mumbai got off to a fine start as captain Rohi Sharma and Ishan Kishan added 67 for the opening wicket. Then Sharma got out for 41 off 32 balls.

Kishan then added 34 for the third wicket with Tilak Varma. Thereafter, Kishan took charge as he hit big shot at will and helped Mumbai finish on a high. Kishan remained unbeaten on 81 off 48 balls with 11 boundaries and two sixes.

For Delhi the best bowlers were Kuldeep Yadav (3-18) and Khaleel Ahmed (2-27).

In their response Delhi slipped from 30 for no loss to 32 for three. It appeared as if they are going to lag behind. Prithvi Shaw then added 40 for the fourth wicket with Lalit Yadav. Shaw finally fell for 38 off 24 balls with four boundaries and two sixes. Then with the side struggling at 72 for five, Yadav took charge.

Yadav added 32 runs for the sixth wicket with Shardul Thakur. The chase appeared to be faltering and right then, Axar Patel joined forces with Yadav with the score of 104 for six in 13.2 overs. Together Patel and Yadav added 75 runs for the seventh wicket in 30 deliveries to seal a famous win for Delhi. Yadav remained unbeaten on 48 off 38 balls with four boundaries and two sixes, whereas Patel finished on 38 off 17 balls with two boundaries and three sixes.

For Mumbai the best bowlers were Basil Thampi (3-35) and Murugan Ashwin (2-14).

Match Summary
Mumbai Indians: 177-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-67 (Rohit Sharma-8.2 ov), 2-83 (Anmolpreet Singh-10.4 ov), 3-117 (Tilak Varma-14.2 ov), 4-122 (Kieron Pollard-15.5 ov), 5-159 (Tim David-18.6 ov)

Delhi Capitals: 179-6 (18.2)
Fall of wickets: 1-30 (Tim Seifert-3.3 ov), 2-30 (Mandeep Singh-3.5 ov), 3-32 (Rishabh Pant-4.1 ov), 4-72 (Prithvi Shaw-9.2 ov), 5-72 (Rovman Powell-9.4 ov), 6-104 (Shardul Thakur-13.2 ov)


Result: Delhi Capitals won by four wickets

Playing XI
Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, Tim Seifert, Mandeep Singh, Rishabh Pant (captain & wicket-keeper), Rovman Powell, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed, Kamlesh Nagarkoti

Mumbai Indians: Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Rohit Sharma (captain), Tilak Varma, Anmolpreet Singh, Kieron Pollard, Tim David, Daniel Sams, Murugan Ashwin, Tymal Mills, Jasprit Bumrah, Basil Thampi

Match Details
Toss: Delhi Capitals, elected to field
Venue: Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai
Start Time: 11:00 hrs GMT
Match officials: Rod Tucker, Saiyed Khalid (On-field Umpires); Jayaraman Madanagopal (TV Umpire); Nitin Pandit (Reserve Umpire); Prakash Bhatt (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022