< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2022 Match 31: Faf, Hazlewood star in Bangalore's royal win

Royal Challengers Bangalore registered an impressive 18 run win over Lucknow Super Giants to continue their supreme form in IPL 2022.

Earlier, Bangalore after being asked to bat posted 181 for six in their 20 overs. In their response Lucknow finished on 163 for eight in their 20 overs at the DY Patil Stadium on Tuesday night.

Bangalore lost their top-order cheaply. Then captain Faf du Plessis shared a 37 run stand with Glenn Maxwell. Thereafter, du Plessis added 70 runs for the fifth wicket with Shahbaz Ahmed. du Plessis finally fell in the 20th over to finish on 96 off 64 balls with 11 boundaries and two sixes. Bangalore finished on 181 for six in their 20 overs. For Lucknow the best bowlers were Dushmantha Chameera (2-31) and Jason Holder (2-25).

In their chase, Lucknow lost wickets at regular intervals. Captain KL Rahul tried to hold the innings together. But after Rahul fell for 30, the chase did not take off. There was a partnership worth 36 between Deepak Hooda and Krunal Pandya. After Hooda fell, Pandya fell soon after for 42 off 28 balls (5x4, 2x6). The chase was fashioned for a while by Marcus Stoinis and Holder for a bit. But it was too little too late as Lucknow was restricted to 163 for eight in their 20 overs.

For Bangalore the best bowler was Josh Hazlewood (4-25).

Match Summary
Royal Challengers Bangalore: 181-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Anuj Rawat-0.5 ov), 2-7 (Virat Kohli-0.6 ov), 3-44 (Glenn Maxwell-5.2 ov), 4-62 (Suyash Prabhudessai-7.2 ov), 5-132 (Shahbaz Ahmed-15.2 ov), 6-181 (Faf du Plessis-19.5 ov)

Lucknow Super Giants: 163-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-17 (Quinton de Kock-2.5 ov), 2-33 (Manish Pandey-4.6 ov), 3-64 (KL Rahul-7.6 ov), 4-100 (Deepak Hooda-12.3 ov), 5-108 (Krunal Pandya-13.4 ov), 6-135 (Ayush Badoni-16.4 ov), 7-148 (Marcus Stoinis-18.2 ov), 8-163 (Jason Holder-19.5 ov)


Result: Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 18 runs

Playing XI

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Faf du Plessis (captain), Anuj Rawat, Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Suyash Prabhudessai, Shahbaz Ahmed, Wanindu Hasaranga, Josh Hazlewood, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj

Lucknow Super Giants: KL Rahul (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Deepak Hooda, Ayush Badoni, Marcus Stoinis, Jason Holder, Krunal Pandya, Avesh Khan, Dushmantha Chameera, Ravi Bishnoi

Match Details
Toss: Lucknow Super Giants, elected to field
Venue: DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai
Start time: 1500 hrs GMT
Match officials: Chris Gaffaney, Nitin Pandit (On-field Umpires); Jayaraman Madanagopal (TV Umpire); Chirra Ravikanthreddy (Reserve Umpire); Prakash Bhatt (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022