< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2022 Match 37: Rahul's century leads Lucknow into top four, again

Lucknow Super Giants moved into top four of the IPL 2022 points table with a 36 run win over Mumbai Indians at the Wankhede Stadium on Sunday night.

Asked to bat, Lucknow posted 168 for six in their 20 overs. In their response, Mumbai finished on 132 for eight in their 20 overs.

Lucknow captain Lokesh Rahul shared a crucial 58 run second wicket stand with Manish Pandey. The innings appeared to be progressing well. But then there was a middle-order collapse. The innings rested on Rahul as he rallied the lower-order well. Towards the end, Rahul shared a 47 run stand with Ayush Badoni for the sixth wicket. In the end Lucknow finished on 168 for six in their 20 overs. Rahul finished unbeaten on 103 off 62 balls with 12 boundaries and four sixes. This was Rahul's second hundred this season and that too against Mumbai.

For Mumbai the best bowlers were Riley Meredith (2-40) and Kieron Pollard (2-8).

In their response, Mumbai got off to a sedate start of 49 between Ishan Kishan and captain Rohit Sharma. Then there was a collapse as they slipped to 67 for four. Then there was a 57 run fifth wicket stand between Tilak Varma and Pollard. But after Varma fell, the other batters just could not get going. Mumbai ended up on 132 for eight in their 20 overs to lost their eighth straight match. For Lucknow the best bowler was Krunal Pandya (3-19).

Match Summary

Lucknow Super Giants: 168-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-27 (Quinton de Kock-3.6 ov), 2-85 (Manish Pandey-11.5 ov), 3-102 (Marcus Stoinis-12.5 ov), 4-103 (Krunal Pandya-13.1 ov), 5-121 (Deepak Hooda-15.3 ov), 6-168 (Ayush Badoni-19.4 ov)

Mumbai Indians: 132-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-49 (Ishan Kishan-7.1 ov), 2-54 (Dewald Brevis-8.3 ov), 3-58 (Rohit Sharma-9.4 ov), 4-67 (Suryakumar Yadav-11.2 ov), 5-124 (Tilak Varma-17.5 ov), 6-131 (Kieron Pollard-19.1 ov), 7-132 (Jaydev Unadkat-19.3 ov), 8-132 (Daniel Sams-19.4 ov)


Result: Lucknow Super Giants won by 36 runs

Playing XI
Lucknow Super Giants: KL Rahul (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Deepak Hooda, Ayush Badoni, Marcus Stoinis, Krunal Pandya, Jason Holder, Mohsin Khan, Dushmantha Chameera, Ravi Bishnoi

Mumbai Indians: Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Rohit Sharma (captain), Dewald Brevis, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Hrithik Shokeen, Kieron Pollard, Daniel Sams, Jaydev Unadkat, Jasprit Bumrah, Riley Meredith

Match Details
Toss: Mumbai Indians, elected to field
Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Start time: 15:00 hrs GMT
Match officials: Marais Erasmus, Saiyed Khalid (On-field umpires); Virender Sharma (TV Umpire); Nitin Pandit (Reserve Umpire); Shakti Singh (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022