< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2022 Match 46: Gaikwad, Conway lead Chennai to a morale boosting win

Mahendra Singh Dhoni made a strong return to captaincy as he led Chennai Super Kings to a 13-run win over Sunrisers Hyderabad at the MCA Stadium on Sunday night.

Asked to bat, Chennai posted 202 for two in their 20 overs and in their response Hyderabad finished on 189 for six in their 20 overs.

Chennai got off to a fantastic start as their openers Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway put on a massive stand. They scored runs at will and at a good pace. Gaikwad was getting close to a hundred but he got anxious and was dismissed for 99 off 57 balls with six boundaries and six sixes. Conway carried on in the company of captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Finally, Conway finished on an unbeaten 85 off 55 balls with eight boundaries and four sixes. In the end Chennai finished on 202 for two in their 20 overs. T Natarajan was Hyderabad's best bowler with figures of two for 42.

In their response, Hyderabad started off well with Abhishek Sharma and captain Kane Williamson adding 58 for the first wicket. Sharma fell for an aggressive 39 off 24 balls with five boundaries and a six. Then Williamson shared a third wicket stand worth 30 runs with Aiden Markram. Williamson shared a further 38 runs for the fourth wicket with Nicholas Pooran. Williamson finally fell for 47 off 37 balls with two boundaries and two sixes. Pooran then carried on the chase but waged a lone battle. Pooran finished unbeaten on 64 off 33 balls with three boundaries and six sixes. In the last over of the match, Pooran struck 24 runs even as they finished 13 runs short. Hyderabad ended on 189 for six in their 20 overs. For Chennai, the best bowler was Mukesh Choudhary finished on four for 46.  

Match Summary
Chennai Super Kings: 202-2 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-182 (Ruturaj Gaikwad-17.5 ov), 2-192 (MS Dhoni-19.2 ov)

Sunrisers Hyderabad: 189-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-58 (Abhishek Sharma-5.5 ov), 2-58 (Rahul Tripathi-5.6 ov), 3-88 (Aiden Markram-9.5 ov), 4-126 (Kane Williamson-14.2 ov), 5-151 (Shashank Singh-17.4 ov), 6-153 (Washington Sundar-17.6 ov)

Result: Chennai Super Kings won by 13 runs


Playing XI
Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson (captain), Abhishek Sharma, Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram, Nicholas Pooran (wicket-keeper), Shashank Singh, Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Marco Jansen, Umran Malik, T Natarajan

Chennai Super Kings: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Robin Uthappa, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (captain & wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Mitchell Santner, Dwaine Pretorius, Simarjeet Singh, Maheesh Theekshana, Mukesh Choudhary

Match Details
Toss: Sunrisers Hyderabad, elected to field
Venue: Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA) Stadium, Pune
Start time: 1500 hrs GMT
Match officials: Anil Chaudhary, KN Ananthapadmabhan (On-field Umpires); Michael Gough (TV Umpire); Saidharshan Kumar (Reserve Umpire); Narayanan Kutty (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022