< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2022 Match 48: Dhawan, Rabada halt Gujarat's forward march

Punjab Kings caused a major upset as they beat table toppers Gujarat Titans by eight wickets in the IPL 2022 league encounter at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai on Tuesday night.

After opting to bat, Gujarat posted a modest 143 for eight in their 20 overs and in their response Punjab chased down the target to finish on 145 for two in 16 overs.

Earlier, Gujarat lost wickets at regular intervals during their innings. It was left to Sai Sudharsan to control the innings. He shared a crucial 45 run fifth wicket stand with Rahul Tewatia. After Tewatia fell, there were regular fall of wickets. Sudharsan kept carrying on and in the end he finished on an unbeaten 65 off 50 balls with five boundaries and a six. In the end Gujarat finished on 143 for eight in their 20 overs. For Punjab the best bowler was Kagiso Rabada (4-33).

In their chase, Punjab rode on a fine 87 run stand between Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Shikhar Dhawan for the second wicket. From there on Dhawan kept pushing the chase forward with an unbeaten 48 run third wicket stand with Liam Livingstone. Dhawan finished unbeaten on 62 off 53 balls with eight boundaries and a six. Livingstone ended on a brisk 30 off just 10 balls with two boundaries and three sixes.

Match Summary
Gujarat Titans: 143-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-17 (Shubman Gill-2.1 ov), 2-34 (Wriddhiman Saha-3.5 ov), 3-44 (Hardik Pandya-6.2 ov), 4-67 (David Miller-11.2 ov), 5-112 (Rahul Tewatia-16.2 ov), 6-112 (Rashid Khan-16.3 ov), 7-122 (Pradeep Sangwan-17.4 ov), 8-129 (Lockie Ferguson-18.2 ov)

Punjab Kings: 145-2 (16)
Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Jonny Bairstow-2.2 ov), 2-97 (Bhanuka Rajapaksa-11.6 ov)


Result: Punjab Kings won by eight wickets 

Playing XI
Gujarat Titans: Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Sai Sudharsan, Hardik Pandya (captain), David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Alzarri Joseph, Lockie Ferguson, Pradeep Sangwan, Mohammed Shami

Punjab Kings: Mayank Agarwal (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Jonny Bairstow, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Liam Livingstone, Jitesh Sharma (wicket-keeper), Rishi Dhawan, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh, Sandeep Sharma

Match Details
Toss: Gujarat Titans, elected to bat
Venue: DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai
Start time: 1500 hrs GMT
Match officials: Rohan Pandit, Virender Sharma (On-field Umpires); Saiyed Khalid (TV Umpire); Ulhas Gandhe (Reserve Umpire); Daniel Manohar (Match-referee) 

© Cricket World 2022