< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2022 Match 51: Mumbai snatch win from the jaws of defeat

Mumbai Indians snatched victory from the jaws of defeat as they beat Gujarat Titans by five runs at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai on Friday.

Asked to bat Mumbai posted 177 for six in their 20 overs and Gujarat in reply finished on 172 for five in 20 overs.

Mumbai started off well with their openers captain Rohit Sharma (43) and Ishan Kishan (45) putting on 74 for the first wicket. Then there was a collapse as Mumbai was reduced to 119 for four in 14.5 overs. Towards the end Tim David struck lusty blows as he finished unbeaten on 44 off 21 balls with two boundaries and four sixes. Mumbai finished on 177 for six in their 20 overs. For Gujarat the best bowler was Rashid Khan (2-24).

In their response Gujarat got off to a flying start with Wriddhiman Saha and Shubman Gill putting on 106 for the first wicket. Gill was first to be dismissed for 52 off 36 balls with six boundaries and two sixes. Saha got out for 55 off 40 balls with six boundaries and two sixes. But after they fell, there were regular fall of wickets. The innings did not lose any momentum as Hardik Pandya and Sai Sudharsan carried the innings forward. In the end David Miller ended unbeaten on 19 off 14 balls but could not finish the chase as Daniel Sams successfully defended nine in the 20th over. Gujarat finished on 172 for five in their 20 overs. For Mumbai the best bowler was Murugan Ashwin (2-29).

Match Summary
Mumbai Indians: 177-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-74 (Rohit Sharma-7.3 ov), 2-99 (Suryakumar Yadav-10.3 ov), 3-111 (Ishan Kishan-11.6 ov), 4-119 (Kieron Pollard-14.5 ov), 5-157 (Tilak Varma-18.2 ov), 6-164 (Daniel Sams-18.6 ov)

Gujarat Titans: 172-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-106 (Shubman Gill-12.1 ov), 2-111 (Wriddhiman Saha-12.6 ov), 3-138 (Sai Sudharsan-15.6 ov), 4-156 (Hardik Pandya-17.4 ov), 5-171 (Rahul Tewatia-19.3 ov)

Result: Mumbai won by five runs


Playing XI
Gujarat Titans: Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Shubman Gill, Sai Sudharsan, Hardik Pandya (captain), David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Pradeep Sangwan, Lockie Ferguson, Alzarri Joseph, Mohammed Shami

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Kieron Pollard, Tim David, Daniel Sams, Murugan Ashwin, Kumar Kartikeya, Riley Meredith, Jasprit Bumrah

Match Details
Toss: Gujarat Titans, elected to field
Venue: Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai
Start time: 1500 hrs GMT
Match officials: Jayaraman Madanagopal, Sadashiv Iyer (On-field Umpires); Bruce Oxenford (TV Umpire); Rohan Pandit (Reserve Umpire); Manu Nayyar (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022