< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2022 Match 52: Rajasthan Royals campaign back on track

Rajasthan Royals pulled things back in their IPL 2022 campaign with a six wicket win over Punjab Kings at the Wankhede Stadium on Saturday.

After opting to bat, Punjab posted 189 for five in their 20 overs and in their response Rajasthan ended on 190 for four in 19.4 overs.

Punjab got off to a confident start with Jonny Bairstow and Shikhar Dhawan putting on 47. Then there was another useful stand for the second wicket between Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Bairstow. Just when it seemed like captain Mayank Agarwal was pulling his side ahead with Bairstow, there was a collapse. Bairstow fell for 56 off 40 balls with eight boundaries and a six. Towards the end Jitesh Sharma (38 n.o.) and Liam Livingstone (22) added 50 runs for the fifth wicket. In the end Punjab finished on 189 for five in their 20 overs. For Rajasthan the best bowler was Yuzvendra Chahal (3-28).

In their response Jos Buttler and Yashasvi Jaiswal started with a 46 run stand. Then captain Sanju Samson upped the scoring rate with a brisk 23 off 12 balls. Then Jaiswal put on 56 runs for the third wicket with Devdutt Padikkal (31). Jaiswal fell for 68 off 41 balls with nine boundaries and two sixes. Padikkal was dismissed after a 41 run fourth wicket stand with Shimron Hetmyer. In the end Hetmyer took Rajasthan across the line as he remained unbeaten on 31 off 16 balls. Rajasthan overhauled the target in 19.4 to finish on 190 for four. For Punjab the best bowler was Arshdeep Singh (2-29). 

Match Summary
Punjab Kings: 189-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-47 (Shikhar Dhawan-5.1 ov), 2-89 (Bhanuka Rajapaksa-10.2 ov), 3-118 (Mayank Agarwal-14.2 ov), 4-119 (Jonny Bairstow-14.4 ov), 5-169 (Liam Livingstone-18.5 ov)

Rajasthan Royals: 190-4 (19.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-46 (Jos Buttler-3.6 ov), 2-85 (Sanju Samson-8.1 ov), 3-141 (Yashasvi Jaiswal-14.2 ov), 4-182 (Devdutt Padikkal-18.5 ov)

Result: Rajasthan Royals won by six wickets


Playing XI
Punjab Kings: Jonny Bairstow, Shikhar Dhawan, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Liam Livingstone, Mayank Agarwal (captain), Jitesh Sharma (wicket-keeper), Rishi Dhawan, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh, Sandeep Sharma

Rajasthan Royals: Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper/captain), Devdutt Padikkal, Riyan Parag, Shimron Hetmyer, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Prasidh Krishna, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Sen

Match Details
Toss: Punjab Kings, elected to bat
Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Start time: 1100 hrs GMT
Match officials: Yeshwant Barde, Chirra Ravikanthreddy (On-field Umpires); Chris Gaffaney (TV Umpire); Ulhas Gandhe (Reserve Umpire); Prakash Bhatt (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022