< >
Cricket Betting us

IPL 2022 Match 55: Conway makes Delhi pay with third straight half-century

Chennai Super Kings dented the chances of Delhi Capitals of making the playoffs of IPL 2022 as they beat the Rishabh Pant led side by a massive 91 runs at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai on Sunday night.

Asked to bat, Chennai posted 208 for six in their 20 overs and in their response Delhi was bowled out for 117 in 17.4 overs.

Earlier, Chennai got off a fine start as their openers Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway put on 110 for the first wicket. After Gaikwad fell for 41 off 33 balls, Conway carried on as he added 59 for the second wicket with Shivam Dube (32). Conway fell for 87 off 49 balls with seven boundaries and five sixes. This was Conway's third straight half-century. Towards the end, captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni made a brisk 21 off just eight balls as Chennai finished on an impressive 208 for six in their 20 overs. For Delhi the best bowlers were Anrich Nortje (3-42) and Khaleel Ahmed (2-28).

In their response, Delhi lost their openers early. But for brief resistance from Mitchell Marsh (25) and Rishabh Pant, none of the other batters provided any fight. They lost wickets at regular intervals. They went from being 72 for two to 99 for eight. Only Shardul Thakur played a lone hand towards the end as he made 24 off 19 balls. In the end Delhi was shot out for 117 in 17.4 overs. For Chennai the best bowlers were Moeen Ali (3-13), Mukesh Choudhary (2-22), Simarjeet Singh (2-27) and Dwayne Bravo (2-24). 

Match Summary
Chennai Super Kings: 208-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-110 (Ruturaj Gaikwad-10.6 ov), 2-169 (Devon Conway-16.3 ov), 3-170 (Shivam Dube-17.1 ov), 4-187 (Ambati Rayudu-18.2 ov), 5-203 (Moeen Ali-19.2 ov), 6-203 (Robin Uthappa-19.3 ov)

Delhi Capitals: 117 (17.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-16 (Srikar Bharat-1.5 ov), 2-36 (David Warner-4.2 ov), 3-72 (Mitchell Marsh-7.3 ov), 4-75 (Rishabh Pant-9.1 ov), 5-81 (Ripal Patel-9.4 ov), 6-82 (Axar Patel-10.1 ov), 7-85 (Rovman Powell-10.5 ov), 8-99 (Kuldeep Yadav-15.2 ov), 9-117 (Shardul Thakur-17.3 ov), 10-117 (Khaleel Ahmed-17.4 ov)

Result:  Chennai Super Kings won by 91 runs


Playing XI
Chennai Super Kings: Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Robin Uthappa, Ambati Rayudu, Moeen Ali, Shivam Dube, MS Dhoni (wicket-keeper & captain), Dwayne Bravo, Simarjeet Singh, Maheesh Theekshana, Mukesh Choudhary

Delhi Capitals: Srikar Bharat, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper & captain), Rovman Powell, Ripal Patel, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Anrich Nortje, Khaleel Ahmed

Match Details
Toss: Delhi Capitals, elected to field
Venue: DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai
Start time: 1500 hrs GMT
Match officials: Nitin Menon, Rohan Pandit (On-field Umpires); Saiyed Khalid (TV Umpire); Tapan Sharma (Reserve Umpire); Manu Nayyar (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022