< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2022 Match 56: Bumrah's spell in vain as Mumbai batters cave in, again

Kolkata Knight Riders kept their playoff hopes alive in IPL 2022 with a 52 run win over Mumbai Indians at the DY Patil Stadium on Monday night.

Asked to bat, Kolkata posted 165 for nine in their 20 overs and in response Mumbai were bowled out for 113 in 17.3 overs.

Earlier, Kolkata got off to a fine start as openers Ajinkya Rahane and Venkatesh Iyer (43) posted 60 for the first wicket. Then, captain Shreyas Iyer added 36 runs for the third wicket with Nitish Rana (43). But there was a collapse as Kolkata slipped from 123 for two to 139 for five. Towards the end only Rinku Singh batted with freedom as Kolkata ended on 165 for nine in their 20 overs. For Mumbai, Jasprit Bumrah was the best bowler with figures of five for 10.

In their response, Mumbai lost wickets at regular intervals. Only opener Ishan Kishan carried the bat through the innings with a 43-ball 51 with five boundaries and one six. None of the other batters were involved in any worthwhile partnership and did not contribute anything. Ramandeep Singh, Tim David and Kieron Pollard got starts but did not carry on. In the end Mumbai was bowled out for 113 in 17.3 overs. For Kolkata, the best bowlers were Pat Cummins (3-22) and Andre Russell (2-22). 

Match Summary
Kolkata Knight Riders: 165-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-60 (Venkatesh Iyer-5.4 ov), 2-87 (Ajinkya Rahane-10.2 ov), 3-123 (Shreyas Iyer-13.1 ov), 4-136 (Andre Russell-14.2 ov), 5-139 (Nitish Rana-14.5 ov), 6-156 (Sheldon Jackson-17.1 ov), 7-156 (Pat Cummins-17.3 ov), 8-156 (Sunil Narine-17.4 ov), 9-164 (Tim Southee-18.6 ov)

Mumbai Indians: 113 (17.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Rohit Sharma-0.6 ov), 2-32 (Tilak Varma-4.6 ov), 3-69 (Ramandeep Singh-10.3 ov), 4-83 (Tim David-12.2 ov), 5-100 (Ishan Kishan-14.1 ov), 6-102 (Daniel Sams-14.4 ov), 7-102 (Murugan Ashwin-14.6 ov), 8-112 (Kumar Kartikeya-16.6 ov), 9-113 (Kieron Pollard-17.2 ov), 10-113 (Jasprit Bumrah-17.3 ov)

Results: Kolkata Knight Riders won by 52 runs


Playing XI
Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Tilak Varma, Ramandeep Singh, Tim David, Kieron Pollard, Daniel Sams, Murugan Ashwin, Riley Meredith, Kumar Kartikeya, Jasprit Bumrah

Kolkata Knight Riders: Ajinkya Rahane, Venkatesh Iyer, Shreyas Iyer (captain), Rinku Singh, Nitish Rana, Andre Russell, Sheldon Jackson (wicket-keeper), Pat Cummins, Sunil Narine, Tim Southee, Varun Chakravarthy

Match Details
Toss: Mumbai Indians, elected to field
Venue: DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai
Start time: 1500 hrs GMT
Match officials: Chris Gaffaney, Sadashiv Iyer (On-field Umpires); Bruce Oxenford (TV Umpire); Chirra Ravikanthreddy (Reserve Umpire); Prakash Bhatt (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022