< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2022 Match 57: Gujarat make playoff cut, thrash Lucknow in a low-scoring encounter

Gujarat Titans became the first team to book its place in IPL 2022 playoffs when they beat Lucknow Super Giants by 62 runs on Tuesday night at the MCA Stadium in Pune.

After opting to bat, Gujarat posted 144 for four in their 20 overs and Lucknow was shot out for 82 in 13.5 overs in their reply.

Earlier, Gujarat's innings was propelled by Shubman Gill's fine effort at the top of the order. Gujarat lost their top-order to be reduced to 51 for three. Thereafter, Gill added 52 for the fourth wicket with David Miller. Towards the end Rahul Tewatia made a brisk 22 off 16 balls with four boundaries. Gill finished unbeaten on 63 off 49 balls with seven boundaries. For Lucknow the best bowler was Avesh Khan (2-26).

In their response, Lucknow lost wickets at regular intervals. The side went from 33 for two to 82 all out. Only batter to show any kind of fight for Lucknow was Deepak Hooda (27). None of the other batters provided any support to Hooda. When Hooda fell as the ninth wicket with the score on 70, it was the end of a terrible night for Lucknow. In the end Lucknow ended on 82 in just 13.5 overs. For Gujarat the best bowlers were Rashid Khan (4-24), R Sai Kishore (2-7) and Yash Dayal (2-24).

Match Summary
Gujarat Titans: 144-4 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Wriddhiman Saha-2.4 ov), 2-24 (Matthew Wade-4.2 ov), 3-51 (Hardik Pandya-9.1 ov), 4-103 (David Miller-15.6 ov)

Lucknow Super Giants: 82 (13.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Quinton de Kock-3.3 ov), 2-24 (KL Rahul-4.5 ov), 3-33 (Karan Sharma-5.5 ov), 4-45 (Krunal Pandya-7.3 ov), 5-61 (Ayush Badoni-10.5 ov), 6-65 (Marcus Stoinis-11.2 ov), 7-67 (Jason Holder-11.6 ov), 8-70 (Mohsin Khan-12.6 ov), 9-70 (Deepak Hooda-13.1 ov), 10-82 (Avesh Khan-13.5 ov)

Result: Gujarat Titans won by 62 runs


Playing XI
Lucknow Super Giants: Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), KL Rahul (captain), Deepak Hooda, Marcus Stoinis, Ayush Badoni, Krunal Pandya, Jason Holder, Dushmantha Chameera, Avesh Khan, Mohsin Khan, Karan Sharma

Gujarat Titans: Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Shubman Gill, Matthew Wade, Hardik Pandya (captain), David Miller, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Alzarri Joseph, Mohammed Shami, Yash Dayal

Match Details
Toss: Gujarat Titans, elected to bat
Venue: MCA Stadium, Pune
Start time: 1500 hrs GMT
Match officials: KN Ananthapadmanabhan, Michael Gough (On-field Umpires); Anil Chaudhary (TV Umpire); Vinod Seshan (Reserve Umpire); Narayanan Kutty (Match-referee) 

© Cricket World 2022

IPL Social Media Highlights


IPL Social Media Highlights