< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2022 Match 58: Marsh's all-round show hands Delhi a massive win

Delhi Capitals kept their hopes of making the IPL 2022 playoffs alive with a eight-wicket win over Rajasthan Royals at the DY Patil Stadium on Wednesday night.

After being asked to bat, Rajasthan posted 160 for six in their 20 overs and in their response Delhi finished on 161 for two in 18.1 overs.

Earlier, Rajasthan was well served by a 43 run second wicket stand between Yashasvi Jaiswal (19) and Ravichandran Ashwin, promoted to number three. After Jaiswal fell, Ashwin took charge of the innings in the company of Devdutt Padikkal (48). Together, Ashwin and Padikkal put on 53 runs for the third wicket. Ashwin fell for 50 off 38 balls with four boundaries and two sixes. Padikkal hit six boundaries and two sixes. After Ashwin fell, towards the end Rajasthan struggled as they finished on 160 for six in their 20 overs. For Delhi the best bowlers were Chetan Sakariya (2-23), Anrich Nortje (2-39) and Mitchell Marsh (2-25).

In their response, Delhi lost Srikar Bharat in the very first over. Thereafter, David Warner put on a match-winning partnership with Marsh. Warner and Marsh put on 144 for the second wicket. Marsh played a fantastic hand as he took charge of the chase. Marsh fell for 89 off 62 balls with five boundaries and seven sixes. Warner was slow to start off but he held on and even survived a dropped chance. Warner finished unbeaten on 52 off 41 balls with five boundaries and a six. Delhi overhauled the target in 18.1 overs to finish on 162 for three.

Match Summary
Rajasthan Royals: 160-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Jos Buttler-2.5 ov), 2-54 (Yashasvi Jaiswal-8.1 ov), 3-107 (Ravichandran Ashwin-14.1 ov), 4-125 (Sanju Samson-16.1 ov), 5-142 (Riyan Parag-17.3 ov), 6-146 (Devdutt Padikkal-18.1 ov)

Delhi Capitals: 161-2 (18.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Srikar Bharat-0.2 ov), 2-144 (Mitchell Marsh-17.1 ov)

Result: Delhi Capitals won by eight wickets 


Playing XI
Rajasthan Royals: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Jos Buttler, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper & captain), Rassie van der Dussen, Devdutt Padikkal, Riyan Parag, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Prasidh Krishna, Kuldeep Sen, Yuzvendra Chahal

Delhi Capitals: David Warner, Srikar Bharat, Mitchell Marsh, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper & captain), Rovman Powell, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Anrich Nortje, Chetan Sakariya

Match Details
Toss: Delhi Capitals, elected to field
Venue: DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai
Start time: 1500 hrs GMT
Match officials: Nikhil Patwardhan, Nitin Menon (On-field Umpires); Virender Sharma (TV Umpire); Tapan Sharma (Reserve Umpire); Manu Nayyar (Match-referee) 

© Cricket World 2022

IPL Social Media Highlights


IPL Social Media Highlights