< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2022 Match 63: Boult spells Lucknow's doom, keeps playoff hopes alive

Rajasthan Royals improved their chances of qualifying for the playoffs of IPL 2022 after they beat Lucknow Super Giants by 24 runs at the Brabourne Stadium on Sunday night.

After opting to bat, Rajasthan posted 178 for six in their 20 overs and in their response, Lucknow finished on 154 for eight in their 20 overs.

Earlier, Lucknow was carried forward by a 64 run second wicket stand between Yashasvi Jaiswal (41) and captain Sanju Samson (32). Jaiswal carried the innings forward then with Devdutt Padikkal (39). Thereafter, despite handy contributions from Riyan Parag and Jimmy Neesham, the scoring rate did not pick up. In the end Rajasthan finished on 178 for six in their 20 overs. For Lucknow the best bowler was Ravi Bishnoi (2-31).

In their response, the Lucknow innings was reduced to 29 for three. Then Krunal Pandya and Deepak Hooda added 65 runs for the fourth wicket. Hooda finished on 59 off 39 balls with five boundaries and two sixes. Then the innings did not take off as they lost wickets at regular intervals. Marcus Stoinis tried to hit his way out of trouble, but it did not work. In the end Lucknow finished on 154 for eight in their 20 overs. For Rajasthan the best bowlers were Trent Boult (2-18), Prasidh Krishna (2-32) and Obed McCoy (2-35). 

Match Summary
Rajasthan Royals: 178-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Jos Buttler-2.2 ov), 2-75 (Sanju Samson-8.5 ov), 3-101 (Yashasvi Jaiswal-11.2 ov), 4-122 (Devdutt Padikkal-13.4 ov), 5-149 (Riyan Parag-17.1 ov), 6-152 (James Neesham-17.4 ov)

Lucknow Super Giants: 154-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Quinton de Kock-2.1 ov), 2-15 (Ayush Badoni-2.2 ov), 3-29 (KL Rahul-5.3 ov), 4-94 (Krunal Pandya-13.1 ov), 5-116 (Deepak Hooda-15.6 ov), 6-120 (Jason Holder-16.4 ov), 7-120 (Dushmantha Chameera-16.6 ov), 8-151 (Marcus Stoinis-19.2 ov)

Result: Rajasthan Royals won by 24 runs


Playing XI
Lucknow Super Giants: KL Rahul (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Deepak Hooda, Marcus Stoinis, Ayush Badoni, Krunal Pandya, Jason Holder, Avesh Khan, Dushmantha Chameera, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohsin Khan

Rajasthan Royals: Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper & captain), Devdutt Padikkal, James Neesham, Riyan Parag, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Prasidh Krishna, Yuzvendra Chahal, Obed McCoy

Match Details
Toss: Rajasthan Royals, elected to bat
Venue: Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai
Start time: 1500 hrs GMT
Match officials: Pashchim Pathak, Tapan Sharma (On-field Umpires); Bruce Oxenford (TV Umpire); Yeshwant Barde (Reserve Umpire); Prakash Bhatt (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022