< >
Cricket Betting us

IPL 2022 Match 64: Marsh, Thakur star as Delhi jumps to fourth place

Delhi Capitals beat Punjab Kings by 17 runs at the DY Patil Stadium on Monday night to keep their hopes of making the IPL 2022 playoffs alive.

Asked to bat, Delhi posted 159 for seven in their 20 overs and in response Punjab finished on 142 for nine in their 20 overs.

Earlier, Delhi was helped by a 51 run second wicket stand between Sarfaraz Khan (32) and Mitchell Marsh. Once Khan fell, Marsh carried the innings forward first with Lalit Yadav. The other batters did not contribute enough. It was only Marsh who stood tall as he made 63 off 48 balls with four boundaries and three sixes. In the end Delhi finished on 159 for seven in their 20 overs. For Punjab the best bowlers were Liam Livingstone (3-27) and Arshdeep Singh (3-37).

The chase for Punjab got off briskly. But once the openers fell, the innings fell off the tracks. Punjab went from being 53 for one to 67 for six. None of the other batters contributed to the chase. The innings collapsed without any fight. Only Jitesh Sharma managed to revive the chase with a 34-ball 44 with three boundaries and two sixes. Sharma shared a 41 run eighth wicket stand with Rahul Chahar (25 n.o.). In the end Punjab finished on 142 for nine in their 20 overs. For Delhi the best bowlers were Shardul Thakur (4-36), Axar Patel (2-14) and Kuldeep Yadav (2-14). 

Match Summary
Delhi Capitals: 159-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (David Warner-0.1 ov), 2-51 (Sarfaraz Khan-4.5 ov), 3-98 (Lalit Yadav-10.6 ov), 4-107 (Rishabh Pant-11.6 ov), 5-112 (Rovman Powell-13.3 ov), 6-149 (Mitchell Marsh-18.2 ov), 7-154 (Shardul Thakur-19.3 ov)

Punjab Kings: 142-9 (17)
Fall of wickets: 1-38 (Jonny Bairstow-3.5 ov), 2-53 (Bhanuka Rajapaksa-5.4 ov), 3-54 (Shikhar Dhawan-5.6 ov), 4-55 (Mayank Agarwal-6.3 ov), 5-61 (Liam Livingstone-7.6 ov), 6-67 (Harpreet Brar-9.3 ov), 7-82 (Rishi Dhawan-12.4 ov), 8-123 (Jitesh Sharma-17.4 ov), 9-131 (Kagiso Rabada-17.6 ov)

Result: Delhi Capitals won by 17 runs


Playing XI
Punjab Kings: Shikhar Dhawan, Jonny Bairstow, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Mayank Agarwal (captain), Liam Livingstone, Jitesh Sharma (wicket-keeper), Rishi Dhawan, Harpreet Brar, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh

Delhi Capitals: David Warner, Sarfaraz Khan, Mitchell Marsh, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper & captin), Rovman Powell, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Anrich Nortje, Khaleel Ahmed

Match Details
Toss: Punjab Kings, elected to field
Venue: DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai
Start time: 1500 hrs GMT
Match officials: GR Sadashiv Iyer, Nitin Menon (On-field Umpires); Michael Gough (TV Umpire); Navdeep Singh (Reserve Umpire); Prakash Bhatt (Match-referee) 

© Cricket World 2022