< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2022 Match 65: Hyderabad hold their nerves to script narrow win

Sunrisers Hyderabad scripted a narrow three-run win over Mumbai Indians at the Wankhede Stadium on Tuesday night to keep their IPL 2022 playoff hopes alive.

After being asked to bat, Hyderabad posted 193 for six in their 20 overs and in response Mumbai was restricted to 190 for seven in their 20 overs.

Hyderabad was helped by a 78 run second wicket stand between Priyam Garg (42: 26b, 4x4, 2x6) and Rahul Tripathi. Thereafter, Tripathi added a further 76 runs for the third wicket with Nicholas Pooran. After Pooran fell for 38, Tripathi fell soon after for 76 off 44 balls with nine boundaries and three sixes. There was bit of a collapse. But in the end Hyderabad ended on 193 for six in their 20 overs. For Mumbai the best bowler was Ramandeep Singh (3-20).

In their response, Mumbai got off to a fine start. Captain Rohit Sharma (48: 36b, 2x4, 4x6) and Ishan Kishan added 95 runs for the opening wicket. After Sharma fell first, Kishan fell soon after for 43. There was bit of a collapse as Mumbai went from 95 for no loss to 144 for five. Tim David then used the long handle to good effect as he slammed four sixes and three boundaries to finish on 46 off 18 balls. But that was a little too late as Hyderabad fought back to restrict Mumbai to 190 for seven. For Hyderabad the best bowler was Umran Malik (3-23). 

Match Summary
Sunrisers Hyderabad: 193-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-18 (Abhishek Sharma-2.4 ov), 2-96 (Priyam Garg-9.5 ov), 3-172 (Nicholas Pooran-16.5 ov), 4-174 (Rahul Tripathi-17.2 ov), 5-175 (Aiden Markram-17.6 ov), 6-193 (Washington Sundar-19.6 ov)

Mumbai Indians: 190-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-95 (Rohit Sharma-10.4 ov), 2-101 (Ishan Kishan-11.3 ov), 3-123 (Tilak Varma-14.1 ov), 4-127 (Daniel Sams-14.6 ov), 5-144 (Tristan Stubbs-16.4 ov), 6-175 (Tim David-17.6 ov), 7-175 (Sanjay Yadav-18.2 ov)



Playing XI
Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanjay Yadav, Tilak Varma, Tristan Stubbs, Tim David, Ramandeep Singh, Daniel Sams, Mayank Markande, Jasprit Bumrah, Riley Meredith

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Abhishek Sharma, Priyam Garg, Kane Williamson (captain), Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram, Nicholas Pooran (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T Natarajan, Umran Malik

Match Details
Toss: Mumbai Indians, elected to field
Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Start time: 1500 hrs GMT
Match officials: Chris Gaffaney, Nitin Pandit (On-field Umpires); Navdeep Singh (TV Umpire); Saiyed Khalid (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee) 

© Cricket World 2022