< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2022 Match 67: Kohli leads the way as he keeps Bangalore afloat

Royal Challengers Bangalore kept up their hopes of making IPL 2022 playoffs alive with an impressive eight-wicket win over Gujarat Titans at the Wankhede Stadium on Thursday night.

After opting to bat, Gujarat posted 168 for five in their 20 overs and in their response Bangalore finished on 170 for two in 18.4 overs.

Earlier, Wriddhiman Saha opened resolutely for Gujarat making 31 off 22 balls. Later, captain Hardik Pandya led the innings. Pandya added 61 runs for the fourth wicket with David Miller. In the end Miller fell for 34 off 25 balls with three sixes. Pandya remained unbeaten on 62 off 47 balls with four boundaries and three sixes. Rashid Khan weighed in with a brisk 19 off just six balls with one boundary and two sixes. For Bangalore the best bowler was Josh Hazlewood (2-39).

In their response, Bangalore started off well with a 115 opening stand betwen captain Faf du Plessis (44) and Virat Kohli. The sight of an aggressive was wonderful for the capacity crowd at Wankhede as he ended on 73 off 54 balls with eight boundaries and two sixes. The finishing touches to the chase was provided by a brisk unbeaten 40 off 18 balls with five boundaries and two sixes from Glenn Maxwell. Bangalore ended on 170 for two in 18.4 overs. Rashid with figures of two for 32 was the best bowler for Gujarat.

Match Summary
Gujarat Titans: 168-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-21 (Shubman Gill-2.3 ov), 2-38 (Matthew Wade-5.2 ov), 3-62 (Wriddhiman Saha-8.3 ov), 4-123 (David Miller-16.2 ov), 5-132 (Rahul Tewatia-17.3 ov)

Royal Challengers Bangalore: 170-2(18.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-115 (Faf du Plessis-14.3 ov), 2-146 (Virat Kohli-16.4 ov)

Result: Royal Challengers Bangalore won by eight wickets


Playing XI
Royal Challengers Bangalore: Faf du Plessis (captain), Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Glenn Maxwell, Mahipal Lomror, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Shahbaz Ahmed, Wanindu Hasaranga, Harshal Patel, Siddarth Kaul, Josh Hazlewood

Gujarat Titans: Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Shubman Gill, Matthew Wade, Hardik Pandya (captain), David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Lockie Ferguson, Mohammed Shami

Match Details
Toss: Gujarat Titans, elected to bat
Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Start time: 1500 hrs GMT
Match officials: KN Ananthapadmanabhan, Sadashiv Iyer (On-field Umpires); Navdeep Singh (TV Umpire); Tapan Sharma (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee) 

© Cricket World 2022