< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2022 Match 69: Mumbai deny Delhi final playoff slot, win by five wickets

Mumbai Indians ended their IPL 2022 campaign with a five-wicket win over Delhi Capitals on Saturday night at the Wankhede Stadium.

Delhi's campaign also ended abruptly as they could not achieve a win in their final game to make it to the playoffs. Royal Challengers Bangalore made it through to the playoffs as the fourth side.

After being asked to bat, Delhi posted 159 for seven in their 20 overs and in their response Mumbai finished on 160 for five in 19.1 overs.

Delhi started off with a collapse as they were reduced to 31 for three. It was only when captain Rishabh Pant and Rovman Powell got together that the innings came back on track. Pant and Powell added 75 runs for the fifth wicket. Pant fell for 39 off 33 balls with four boundaries and a six. Powell finished on 43 off 34 balls with one boundary and four sixes. Towards the end Delhi finished on 159 for seven in their 20 overs. For Mumbai the best bowlers were Jasprit Bumrah (3-25) and Ramandeep Singh (2-29).

In their response, Mumbai had a slow start as thei captain Rohit Sharma fell early. Then the chase was fashioned by Ishan Kishan (48) and Dewald Brevis as the duo added 51 runs for the second wicket. Kishan was the first one to fall and then Brevis soon after. With the score on 95 for three, the chase seemed a bit iffy. But that's when Tilak Varma joined forces with Tim David. In the end David finished on 34 off just 11 balls with two boundaries and four sixes. Mumbai chased down the target in 19.1 overs to finish on 19.1 overs to win by five wickets. For Delhi the best bowlers were Anrich Nortje (2-37) and Shardul Thakur (2-32). 

Match Summary
Delhi Capitals: 159-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-21 (David Warner-2.6 ov), 2-22 (Mitchell Marsh-3.2 ov), 3-31 (Prithvi Shaw-5.4 ov), 4-50 (Sarfaraz Khan-8.4 ov), 5-125 (Rishabh Pant-15.6 ov), 6-143 (Rovman Powell-18.2 ov), 7-151 (Shardul Thakur-19.3 ov)

Mumbai Indians: 160-5 (19.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-25 (Rohit Sharma-5.2 ov), 2-76 (Ishan Kishan-11.3 ov), 3-95 (Dewald Brevis-14.3 ov), 4-145 (Tim David-17.5 ov), 5-155 (Tilak Varma-18.5 ov)

Result: Mumbai Indians won by five wickets


Playing XI
Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Daniel Sams, Tilak Varma, Dewald Brevis, Tim David, Hrithik Shokeen, Ramandeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Riley Meredith, Mayank Markande

Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, David Warner, Sarfaraz Khan, Mitchell Marsh, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper & captain), Rovman Powell, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed, Anrich Nortje

Match Details
Toss: Mumbai Indians won the toss & elected to field 
Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, Mumbai
Start time: 1500 hrs GMT
Match officials:  Nitin Menon, Tapan Sharma (On-field Umpires); Saiyed Khalid (TV Umpire);  Sadashiv Iyer (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee) 

© Cricket World 2022