< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2022 Match 7: Lucknow chase down massive Chennai target in style

In a high-scoring clash Lucknow Super Giants chased down Chennai Super Kings' massive score to register their first win in the history of Indian Premier League (IPL)on Thursday night.

At the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai, Chennai after being asked to bat posted 210 for seven in their 20 overs. In response, Lucknow chased down the score in 19.3 overs to finish on 211 for four.

Earlier, Robin Uthappa scored a brisk 50 off 27 balls with eight boundaries and one six. He shared a 56 run stand for the second wicket with Moeen Ali (35). Later, Shivam Dube joined forces with Ambati Rayudu for the fourth wicket and added 60 runs. Dube scored 49 off 30 balls with five boundaries and two sixes. Rayudu finished on 27, while Ali ended with 35 off 22 balls.

Towards the end Ravindra Jadeja and Mahendra Singh Dhoni used the long handle to good effect. Chennai ended on 210 for seven in their 20 overs.

For Lucknow the wicket-takers were Avesh Khan (2-38), Andrew Tye (2-40) and Ravi Bishnoi (2-24).

In their chase, Lucknow was well served by their openers Lokesh Rahul (40) and Quinton de Kock (61: 45b, 9x4) who added 99 for the opening wicket. Later, Evin Lewis took charge of the knock to finish on an unbeaten 55 off 23 balls with six boundaries and three sixes. Towards the end Deepak Hooda and Ayush Badoni kept their cool. They gave good support to Lewis as Lucknow chased down the target in 19.3 overs to finish on 211 for four.

For Chennai the best bowler was Dwaine Pretorius (2-31).

Match Summary

Chennai Super Kings: 210-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-28 (Ruturaj Gaikwad-2.3 ov), 2-84 (Robin Uthappa-7.3 ov), 3-106 (Moeen Ali-10.1 ov), 4-166 (Ambati Rayudu-16.2 ov), 5-189 (Shivam Dube-18.2 ov), 6-203 (Ravindra Jadeja-19.2 ov), 7-203 (Dwaine Pretorius-19.3 ov)

Lucknow Super Giants: 211-4 (19.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-99 (KL Rahul-10.2 ov), 2-106 (Manish Pandey-11.2 ov), 3-139 (Quinton de Kock-14.4 ov), 4-171 (Deepak Hooda-17.2 ov)


Result: Lucknow Super Giants won by six wickets

Playing XI

Lucknow Super Giants: KL Rahul (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Evin Lewis, Manish Pandey, Deepak Hooda, Ayush Badoni,  Krunal Pandya, Andrew Tye, Dushmantha Chameera, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan

Chennai Super Kings: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Robin Uthappa, Moeen Ali,  Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja (captain),  Dwaine Pretorious, Shivam Dube, Dwayne Bravo, Mukesh Choudhary, Tushar Deshpande

Match details
Toss: Lucknow Super Giants, elected to field
Venue: Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai
Start time: 1500 hrs GMT
Match officials: Rod Tucker, Virender Sharma (On-field Umpires); Yeshwant Barde (TV Umpire); Nikhil Patwardhan (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022