< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2022 Match 70: Punjab ends season on a high, post a swift win

Punjab Kings ended their campaign of IPL 2022 with a five-wicket win over Sunrisers Hyderabad in the final league match of the season at the Wankhede Stadium on Sunday night.

After opting to bat, Hyderabad posted 157 for eight in their 20 overs and in their response, Punjab finished on 160 for five in 15.1 overs.

Hyderabad as helped by a 47 run second wicket stand between Abhishek Sharma (43: 32b, 54, 2x6) and Rahul Tripathi (20). Thereafter, Aiden Markram held the innings together but did not get much support. Later, Washington Sundar (25) added 58 runs for the sixth wicket with Romario Shepherd (26 n.o.). Towards the end, Hyderabad finished on 157 for eight in their 20 overs. For Punjab the best bowlers were Nathan Ellis (3-40) and Harpreet Brar (3-26).

The chase for Punjab was fashioned by useful knocks by by openers Jonny Bairstow (23) and Shikhar Dhawan (39). Then Dhawan added 41 runs for the fourth wicket with Liam Livingstone. Then Livingstone was aggressive like usual as he remained unbeaten on 49 off 22 balls with two boundaries and five sixes. In the end, Punjab chased down the target in 15.1 overs to finish on 160 for five. The best bowler for Hyderabad was Fazalhaq Farooqi (2-32).

The action now moves to Kolkata's Eden Gardens where the playoff matches get underway on Tuesday. 

Match Summary
Sunrisers Hyderabad: 157-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-14 (Priyam Garg-2.4 ov), 2-61 (Rahul Tripathi-8.3 ov), 3-76 (Abhishek Sharma-10.3 ov), 4-87 (Nicholas Pooran-12.6 ov), 5-96 (Aiden Markram-14.4 ov), 6-154 (Washington Sundar-19.3 ov), 7-154 (Jagadeesha Suchith-19.4 ov), 8-156 (Bhuvneshwar Kumar-19.5 ov)

Punjab Kings: 160-5 (15.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-28 (Jonny Bairstow-2.6 ov), 2-66 (M Shahrukh Khan-6.3 ov), 3-71 (Mayank Agarwal-7.5 ov), 4-112 (Shikhar Dhawan-12.3 ov), 5-133 (Jitesh Sharma-13.6 ov)

Result: Punjab Kings won by five wickets 


Playing XI
Sunrisers Hyderabad: Abhishek Sharma, Priyam Garg, Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram, Nicholas Pooran (wicket-keeper), Romario Shepherd, Washington Sundar, Jagadeesha Suchith, Umran Malik, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (captain), Fazalhaq Farooqi

Punjab Kings: Jonny Bairstow, Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal (captain), Liam Livingstone, Jitesh Sharma (wicket-keeper), Shahrukh Khan, Kagiso Rabada, Arshdeep Singh, Nathan Ellis, Prerak Mankad, Harpreet Brar

Math Details
Toss: Sunrisers Hyderabad, elected to bat
Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Start time: 1500 hrs GMT
Match officials: Anil Chaudhary, Nikhil Patwardhan (On-field Umpires); Chris Gaffaney (TV Umpire); Navdeep Singh (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022