< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

IPL 2023, Eliminator, Lucknow Super Giants vs Mumbai Indians: Mumbai make it to Qualifier 2 with terrific win

Mumbai Indians inched one step closer to the IPL trophy after their sensational 81 run win over Lucknow Super Giants at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Wednesday.

Batting first, after winning the toss, the Rohit Sharma-led side posted a target of 182 for eight whereas, on the other hand, the Krunal Pandya-led side was bundled out for just 101 runs and was eliminated from the tournament.

Mumbai had a decent opening partnership as Rohit Sharma (11: 10b, 1x4, 1x6) and Ishan Kishan (15: 12b, 3x4) piled up 30 runs for the opening partnership. But they both lost their wickets within a span of six balls. The onus was then on two in-form batters Cameron Green and Suryakumar Yadav to take their team to a good total. The duo rose on the occasion and stitched 66 runs for the third wicket. While Green scored 41 runs off 23 balls with the help of six boundaries and one six, Yadav ended with the knock of 33 runs off 20 balls that included two boundaries and two sixes. Naveen-ul-Haq however, pulled things back with his four wickets. But vital contributions from Tilak Varma (26: 22b, 2x6) and Nehal Wadhera (23: 12b, 2x4, 2x6) powered Mumbai to a total of 182 runs. For Lucknow, Naveen was the pick of the bowlers with his figures of four for 38

Lucknow didn’t look settled at all with the bat as they lost wickets in clusters and put themselves under tremendous pressure. Prerak Mankad and Kyle Mayers (18: 13b, 3x4) lost their wickets in the powerplay. After that skipper Krunal Pandya and Marcus Stoinis led the rescue charge and notched up 46 runs for the third wicket. But after that, nothing went their way. Ayush Badoni and Nicholas Pooran went back without troubling the scorers much. A poor cricket on the field by them saw Stoinis (40: 27b, 5x4, 1x6), Krishappa Gowtham and Deepak Hooda (15: 13b, 1x6) getting run out. A collective bowling and fielding effort saw Mumbai bundling out the opposition for just 101 runs and winning the match by 81 runs. Akash Madhwal was the pick of the bowlers for the five-time champion with his figures of five for five in 3.3 overs.

Match Summary
Mumbai Indians: 182-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-30 (Rohit Sharma-3.2 ov), 2-38 (Ishan Kishan-4.2 ov), 3-104 (Suryakumar Yadav-10.4 ov), 4-105 (Cameron Green-10.6 ov), 5-148 (Tim David-16.3 ov), 6-159 (Tilak Varma-17.3 ov), 7-168 (Chris Jordan-18.5 ov), 8-182 (Nehal Wadhera-19.6 ov)

Lucknow Super Giants: 101 (16)
Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Prerak Mankad-1.5 ov), 2-23 (Kyle Mayers-3.2 ov), 3-69 (Krunal Pandya-8.2 ov), 4-74 (Ayush Badoni-9.4 ov), 5-74 (Nicholas Pooran-9.5 ov), 6-89 (Marcus Stoinis-11.5 ov), 7-92 (Krishnappa Gowtham-12.3 ov), 8-100 (Ravi Bishnoi-14.3 ov), 9-100 (Deepak Hooda-14.5 ov), 10-101 (Mohsin Khan, 16.3 ov)


Match Stats

Playing XI
Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Cameron Green, Suryakumar Yadav, Tim David, Tilak Varma, Chris Jordan, Hrithik Shokeen, Piyush Chawla, Jason Behrendorff, Akash Madhwal; Subs: Ramandeep Singh, Vishnu Vinod, Nehal Wadhera, Kumar Kartikeya

Impact player: Nehal Wadhera for Suryakumar Yadav (1st innings 16.3 ov)

Lucknow Super Giants: Ayush Badoni, Deepak Hooda, Prerak Mankad, Marcus Stoinis, Nicholas Pooran (wicket-keeper), Krunal Pandya (captain), Krishnappa Gowtham, Ravi Bishnoi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Yash Thakur, Mohsin Khan; Subs: Kyle Mayers, Daniel Sams, Yudhvir Singh Charak, Swapnil Singh

Impact player: Kyle Mayers for Yash Thakur (2nd innings, 0.0 ov)

Match Details
Toss: Mumbai Indians, elected to bat
Venue: MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Bruce Oxenford, Virender Sharma (On-field Umpires); Chris Gaffaney (TV Umpire); Anil Chaudhary (Reserve Umpire); Vengalil Narayanan Kutty (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023