< >
Cricket Betting us

IPL 2023, Match 63, Lucknow Super Giants vs Mumbai Indians: Lucknow keep playoff hopes alive

Lucknow Super Giants have made their case strong for the playoffs after their stunning performance against Mumbai Indians at the Ekana Stadium in Lucknow. They thumped the visitors by five runs on Tuesday.

After being put to bat first, the Krunal Pandya-led side posted a total of 177 for three whereas the visitors could manage just 172 for five to lose the game by five runs.

In what was a difficult pitch to bat on, Lucknow Super Giants had the worst possible start as they lost Deepak Hooda (5) and Prerak Mankad (0) off two successive deliveries in the 3rd over. But skipper Krunal Pandya (49 retd hurt) and Marcus Stoinis (89 not out) produced a brilliant effort to rescue their side’s innings. They stitched 82 runs partnership for the third wicket before the all-rounder finished the innings on high that helped LSG post a total of 177 runs on the board. For Mumbai Indians, Jason Behrendroff was the pick of the bowlers with his figures of two for 30.

In their response, Mumbai Indians had a dream start as Ishan Kishan (37) and skipper Rohit Sharma (37) stitched 90 runs for the opening partnership. But they lost wickets in quick succession with Suryakumar Yadav (7) and Nehal Wadhera (16) back in the hut early. Tim David (32*) tried hard to finish the game but he didn’t get the desired support as Lucknow Super Giants defended the target and win the game by five runs to make their case strong for the playoffs. For the hosts, Ravi Bishnoi was the pick of the bowlers with his figures of two for 26. 

Match Summary

Lucknow Super Giants: 177-3 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Deepak Hooda-2.1 ov), 2-12 (Prerak Mankad-2.2 ov), 3-35 (Quinton de Kock-6.1 ov), 3-117* (Krunal Pandya-retired hurt) 

Mumbai Indians: 172-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-90 (Rohit Sharma-9.4 ov), 2-103 (Ishan Kishan-11.1 ov), 3-115 (Suryakumar Yadav-14.1 ov), 4-131 (Nehal Wadhera-16.1 ov), 5-145 (Vishnu Vinod-17.4 ov) 


Playing XIs

Lucknow Super Giants: Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Deepak Hooda, Prerak Mankad, Krunal Pandya (captain), Marcus Stoinis, Nicholas Pooran, Ayush Badoni, Naveen-ul-Haq, Ravi Bishnoi, Swapnil Singh, Mohsin Khan; Subs: Kyle Mayers, Yash Thakur, Krishnappa Gowtham, Daniel Sams, Yudhvir Singh Charak

Impact player: Yash Thakur for Prerak Mankad (2nd innings, 1.0 ov)

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Cameron Green, Suryakumar Yadav, Nehal Wadhera, Tim David, Hrithik Shokeen, Chris Jordan, Piyush Chawla, Jason Behrendorff, Akash Madhwal; Subs: Ramandeep Singh, Vishnu Vinod, Tristan Stubbs, Kumar Kartikeya, Raghav Goyal

Impact player: Vishnu Vinod for Akash Madhwal(2nd innings, 16.1ov)

Match Details

Toss: Mumbai Indians, elected to field
Venue: Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Nand Kishore, Anil Kumar Chaudhary (On-field Umpires); Chris Gaffaney (TV Umpire); Mohit Krishnadas (Reserve Umpire); Sanjay Verma (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023