IPL Franchises Finalise Retained Players

Kieron Pollard
Kieron Pollard is one of five players retained by reigning champions Kieron Pollard
©REUTERS / Action Images

The eight Indian Premier League franchises have chosen the players they will retain for the 2014 season with all unretained players set to be up for auction in February.

A maximum of five players were allowed to be retained by any one franchise, which Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals have done.

Delhi Daredevils, despite reports that they were set to retain Kevin Pietersen and David Warner, have not retained any players following a dismal showing in 2013.

During the auction, to be held on 12th and 13th February in Bangalore, franchises will be able to match the bid on any of their former players and have them rejoin their squad in what the IPL has termed "rights to match" (RTM), although this cannot be used on a capped Indian player.

Franchises have a maximum of three RTMs available depending on their salary cap available and players already retained.

Two-time champions and 2013 runners-up Chennai Super Kings have opted to retain captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, batsman Suresh Raina and all-rounders Dwayne Bravo, Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja.

Reigning champions Mumbai Indians, who will play an IPL season without Sachin Tendulkar for the first time in 2014, retained captain Rohit Sharma, off-spinner Harbhajan Singh, batsman Ambati Rayudu, all-rounder Kieron Pollard and fast bowler Lasith Malinga.

Rajasthan Royals, the third team to retain the maximum five players, opted for all-rounders Shane Watson James Faulkner and Stuart Binny as well as batsmen Ajinkya Rahane and Sanju Samson.

Kings XI Punjab, who have only ever made the knockout stages once, back in 2008, retained only South African batsman David Miller and uncapped Indian Manan Vohra.

2012 champions Kolkata Knight Riders will keep captain Gautam Gambhir and West Indian spinner Sunil Narine while Royal Challengers Bangalore - runners-up in 2009 and 2011 - will retain the services of batsmen Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers and Virat Kohli.

Sunrisers Hyderabad, who made their debut in last season and advanced to the knockouts, retained batsman Shikhar Dhawan and pace bowler Dale Steyn.

"The regulations were drafted taking into account franchise, player and fan feedback," Ranjib Biswal, IPL Chairman explained.

"Continuity of the core players in the teams is very important and the retention of these 24 players, coupled with the 'rights to match' (RTM) to be used in the auction, is a good sign. 

"I am very pleased to see three uncapped Indian players in the list of players retained. The IPL is a great platform for young talent."

Franchise Players Retained Salary Cap Remaining Rights To Match Available
Chennai Super Kings Ashwin, DJ Bravo, Dhoni, Jadeja, Raina, 21 Rs Crore 1
Delhi Daredevils 60 Rs Crore 3
Kings XI Punjab Miller, Vohra 43.5 Rs Crore 2
Kolkata Knight Riders Gambhir, Narine 38 Rs Crore 2
Mumbai Indians Harbhajan, Malinga, Pollard, Rayudu, RG Sharma 21 Rs Crore 1
Rajasthan Royals Binny, Faulkner, Rahane, Samson, Watson 22.5 Rs Crore 1
Royal Challengers Bangalore Gayle, Kohli, de Villiers 30.5 Rs Crore 1
Sunrisers Hyderabad Dhawan, Steyn 38 Rs Crore 2

© Cricket World 2014