< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

IPL team preview - Sunrisers Hyderabad bring in Afghan flavour for 2017 season

David Warner will be key to Sunrisers Hyderabad's fortune in 2017 season
David Warner will be key to Sunrisers Hyderabad's fortune in 2017 season

Defending champions Sunrisers Hyderabad kick-off their Indian Premier League (IPL) title defence in the tournament opener when they lock horns with last year finalist Royal Challengers Bangalore on 5th April.

David Warner took over the reins in 2015 season and an year later, he led them to their maiden title leading from the front. The squad that is overly dominated by Australian contingents - Moises Henriques, Ben Cutting and Ben Laughlin apart from Warner himself will have the services of New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson as well. But the form of Shikhar Dhawan and Yuvraj Singh will once again be crucial for them this season.

Performances in last three editions

After ending sixth in group stages during 2014 and 2015, Sunrisers Hyderabad just managed to sneak into the top four in the 2017 season and registered wins over Kolkata Knight Riders and Gujarat Lions in the play-off stage to make it to the finals where they edged out Royal Challengers Bangalore by eight runs while defending a total of 209 runs to clinch their maiden title.

Released Players

A total of six players were released by the franchise ahead of the 2017 auction which included two overseas players as well. Eoin Morgan, Trent Boult , Karn Sharma, Ashish Reddy, T Suman and Aditya Tare were the player left out while 17 others were retained.

Morgan scored just 123 runs in the seven matches last season while Boult featured in a solitary game for Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Bought Players

The team management decided to strengthen their all-rounders by securing the services of Chris Jordan (England) and Mohammad Nabi (Afghanistan) while the young talented leg-spinner Rashid Khan (Afghanistan) has also managed to find a contract.

Wicket-keeper Ekalvya Trivedi, Tanmay Agarwal, Laughlin, Mohammad Siraj and Pravin Tambe were further additions to the squad this season.

Key Performers

David Warner - He has been their top performer in the last two seasons. With 848 runs from 17 matches last season, he was the only batsman to challenge the eventual leading run-scorer Virat Kohli and also smacked nine fifties and an average of over 60. The Australian vice-captain will once again remain the key member for the team in their title defence.

Mustafizur Rahman - The Bangladesh seamer has been battling injuries and was forced to miss a number of games for his national side. He has been included in the upcoming Test series against Sri Lanka and if available for the IPL 2017, he will once again be a dominant force for Sunrisers Hyderabad as seen in the previous season where he picked 17 wickets at an economy of 6.90.


David Warner (c), Naman Ojha (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Ashish Nehra, Mustafizur Rahman, Bipul Sharma, Vijay Shankar, Deepak Hooda, Barinder Sran, Moises Henriques, Ricky Bhui, Ben Cutting, Mohammad Nabi, Eklavya Dwivedi, Pravin Tambe, Tanmay Agarwal, Rashid Khan, Kane Williamson, Shikhar Dhawan, Abhimanyu Mithun, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddarth Kaul, Mohammad Siraj, Chris Jordan, Ben Laughlin

© Cricket World 2017