< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ireland Cricket Virtual Press Conference with Andrew Balbirnie and Graham Ford

Virtual press conference ahead of the Ireland XI v England Lions match at the Ageas Bowl on Sunday. The event was conducted via Zoom.

Tour details

·       18 July: Squad departs from Dublin for ODI Training Camp

·       22 July: Practice match (scorecard)

·       26 July: Ireland v England Lions

·       30 July: 1st ODI v England (day/night, starts 2pm)

·       1 August: 2nd ODI v England (day/night, starts 2pm)

·       4 August: 3rd ODI v England (day/night, starts 2pm)

·       5 August: Squads returns to Dublin


The 22-man squad is:

Andrew Balbirnie (c), Paul Stirling (vc), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Peter Chase, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Jonathan Garth, Tyrone Kane, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Barry McCarthy, James McCollum, Kevin O'Brien, William Porterfield, Boyd Rankin, Simi Singh, Harry Tector, Stuart Thompson, Lorcan Tucker, Gary Wilson, Craig Young.

Broadcast details

  • All three ODIs will be available to watch live on Sky Sports Cricket in Ireland/UK. Please check local guides for countries outside of this.
  • BBC Sport will be providing Test Match Special commentary, BBC2 will provide TV highlights and BBC social media will feature video clips during play.

World Cup Super League

Matches played as part of the inaugural ICC Cricket World Cup Super League (2020-2022) are essentially World Cup Qualifier matches, as the League will serve as part of the 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualification process. It will feature thirteen teams, the twelve Full members of the International Cricket Council (ICC), and the Netherlands (who won the 2015–17 ICC World Cricket League Championship to qualify for this competition).

Each team will play an ODI series against eight of the twelve opponents, four series at home and four away. Each series will consist of three ODIs. For the World Cup, the hosts (India in 2023), and the top seven-ranked sides thereafter, will qualify automatically. The remaining five teams will play in a qualifying event along with five Associate sides, from which two sides will go through to the final tournament.