Ireland Make It Five Wins In Five In Final Group Game

Ireland finished the World Cup Qualifying group stage with a 100 percent record and they were joined in the Super Eights by Canada, Scotland, Namibia, Kenya, the Netherlands, United Arab Emirates and Afghanistan.

Points Table | Highlights

Kenya were in ruthless form to restrict Denmark to 173 for eight in their Group B encounter in Potchefstroom, going on to reach 17174 for one in just 33.1 overs themselves. Elijah Otieno (3-51) did the bulk of the damage with the big wickets of Carsten Pedersen (0) and Frederik Klokker (14) and but for 45 from opener Mickey Lund, Denmark would have been lucky to have reached 100. Peter Ongondo, Hiren Varaiya and Steve Tikolo picked up a wicket apiece. Kenya lost Maurice Ouma for 24 before belligerent unbeaten half-centuries from Kennedy Obuya (84) and Seren Waters (61) took them to their fourth win out of five with more than 15 overs in hand.

At Potchefstroom, Uganda scored a very healthy 298 for five against Oman with Joel Olweny (85) and Nehal Bibodi (54) both making half-centuries. However, Oman's lower order pulled off an incredible one-wicket win. Frank Nsubuga made 48 in 47 balls and Benjamin Musoke smashed an unbeaten 44 in 21 balls at the death as Oman's bowlers all travelled. Hemal Mehta recovered somewwhat by taking three for 55. Mehta then made 49, offering useful support to Farhan Khan, who scored 95 in just 47 balls, with ten fours and seven sixes. Syed Amir Ali made 43 from number nine, before it was left to last pair Haider Ali (14 not out) and Syed Tariq Hussain (nought not out) carried Oman over the finish line, remarkably, inside 38 overs. However, the result meant that Namibia went through at both teams' expense.

Afghanistan were trying to throw Group B wide open by beating the United Arab Emirates but were unable to do so, failing to defend their score of 251 for eight. Their innings was set up by a 102-run fourth-wicket partnership between Asghar Stanizai (69) and Nowroz Mangal (46) as they had to make do without the banned Karim Sadiq. Zahd Shah picked up four for 59 for the UAE. Nithin Gopal, with 81 and Saqib Ali, with 69, anchored UAE's run chase, as did an unbeaten 47 from Naeem Uddin, getting them home with a little more than two overs to spare. Due to Bermuda's failure to beat the Netherlands, both sides were able to qualify for the Super Eights.

Namibia were held to 213 for nine by unbeaten Ireland in Johannesburg, who went on to win by seven wickets. A superb bowling effort from Boyd Rankin (2-17) helped reduce the Africans to 66 for six before 62 from Nicholaas Schultz, 33 from Deon Kotze and 31 from Ian van Zyl ensured that the tail wagged and despite two for 43 from Regan West, Namibia kept their hopes alive. Those hopes were then dashed by half-centuries from William Porterfield (84) and Niall O'Brien (64 not out). However, Oman's impressive win over Uganda ensured that Namibia won through on net run rate.

Canada staged an impressive recovery to post 252 for seven and beat Scotland by 148 runs in Benoni. Craig Wright (3-23) bowled superbly to help reduce Canada to 73 for three before a stand of 81 for the fourth wicket between Ashish Bagai, last man out for 87, and Sunil Dhaniram, who made 41, put them back on track. There were two wickets for Callum MacLeod and Jan Stander but they were comprehensively outbowled by Umar Bhatti (3-31), Henry Osinde (2-14) and Rizwan Cheema (2-15) and bowled out for 104 in 30.5 overs. Colin Smith top scored for Scotland with 43 with the next best score the 14 managed by captain Ryan Watson.

Another half-century for Ryan ten Doeschate and three wickets propelled the Netherlands to a 63-run over Bermuda. Ten Doeschate scored 67 and was well supported by Alexei Kervezee (44) and Darron Reekers (35) before Edgar Schiferli thumped 41 in 17 balls at the death as they racked up 304 for nine. Rodney Trott, Stefan Kelly and Irving Romaine shared six wickets. David Hemp made 81 in 101 balls but Bermuda's chances of making the 2011 World Cup ended as they closed on 241 for nine.

© Cricket World 2009