< >
Cricket Betting us

Ireland Men's squad named for England ODI series

Ireland Men's squad named for England ODI series
Ireland Men's squad named for England ODI series
©Cricket Ireland

Selectors have today named a 15-player Ireland Men’s squad that will face England in a three-match ODI series between 20 and 26 September 2023 in England.

The squad, which will be led by Paul Stirling, will feature three matches played at Headingley (Leeds), Trent Bridge (Nottingham) and The Seat Unique Stadium (Bristol).

The squad is:

Paul Stirling (capt), Mark Adair, Andrew Balbirnie, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Graham Hume, Josh Little, Andy McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Neil Rock, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Theo van Woerkom, Craig Young,.

Andrew White, Ireland Men’s national selector, said:

“While the squad has an overall familiar shape, there are several important changes we are going to look at. The key changes are at the top of the order where Andrew Balbirnie will open with Paul Stirling. The pair have a great understanding and we believe they can develop into a longer term opening option in the 50-over game.

“Along with this, Curtis Campher will make the move to number 3, where we believe he has the technique and aptitude to succeed in the role – he plays pace as well as anyone in the squad, and whilst he has been a mainstay of our middle order for a few years now, we believe he has the capability to batter higher up the order and have a really positive impact.

“We see this series as important in the development and evolution of our one-day squad and the players are certainly looking forward to locking horns with England for the first time in ODIs since 2020.”

England ODI tour