< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ireland name final T20 World Cup squad

Ireland name final T20 World Cup squad
Ireland name final T20 World Cup squad
©Cricket Ireland / Sporta Media

Selectors have revealed the final 15 players that will form Ireland Men’s ICC World T20 World Cup squad.

Last month the selectors named an 18-player squad to travel to the UAE, which would then need to be reduced to a squad of 15 for the tournament proper.

The squad is:

Andrew Balbirnie (c), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Kevin O’Brien, Neil Rock, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, Craig Young.

Head Coach: Graham Ford.

Reserve players: Shane Getkate, Graham Kennedy, Barry McCarthy.

Andrew White, Chair of National Men’s Selectors, said:

“It was always going to be a very difficult decision to reduce the squad from 18 to 15 – every player out in Dubai at the moment has proven their talent and deserved their chance. The three players who have missed out will still have a role to play in supporting the core squad, and stay on within the team bubble as cover in case of injury or illness.”

“Part of the selectors decision-making was around the conditions in both Abu Dhabi and Sharjah, but we also factored in [Head Coach] Graham Ford’s on-the-ground assessment of what he believes to be our most effective combination of players to win games of cricket.”

“We are confident that the squad of players selected have the ability and the determination to take us into the next round of the tournament, but ultimately it will be about putting together performances that are deserving of it. We wish Fordy and the lads all the best for the challenge ahead, and we’re sure they will do Irish cricket proud. ”