Ireland Qualify For ICC World Twenty20 Finals

Ireland are the first side to qualify for the 2009 ICC World Twenty20 Finals in England after they beat Kenya by four wickets in their Qualifier semi-final in Belfast. Kenya were bowled out for 67 as the low scoring trend of the tournament continued before Ireland reached 72 for six in the final over. Steve Tikolo top scored for Kenya with 13 and Thomas Odoyo hit ten as Andre Botha took three for 20 and Alex Cusack returned remarkable figures of two for three. Ireland lost both openers Will Porterfield and Gary Wilson for ducks before Niall O'Brien (11) and Botha (22) stabilised the innings. Andrew White (one) and Cusack (two) fell cheaply before Kevin O'Brien hit an unbeaten 17 and Trent Johnston eight to seal Ireland's place in tomorrow's final. They will play the winners of the second semi-final between Scotland and the Netherlands while Kenya will play the losers in the third/fourth play-off for a chance to qualify later today. Thomas Odoyo, Ragheb Aga and Jimmy Kamande all picked up two wickets as Kenya fought hard, but to no avail. © Cricket World 2008