< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ireland Unchanged For World Cup

William Porterfield
William Porterfield will lead Ireland during this year's World Cup
©REUTERS / Action Images

Ireland have confirmed that the same 15 players heading to the United Arab Emirates to play in a One-Day International tri-series will form their squad for the Cricket World Cup.

The team will play a brace of ODIs apiece against Afghanistan and Scotland in Dubai, where they will fine-tune their preparations for the World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

Captain William Porterfield, along with Niall and Kevin O'Brien, Ed Joyce and John Mooney will be participating at their third World Cup.

Six players - Andrew Balbirnie, Peter Chase, Andrew McBrine, Tim Murtagh, Stuart Thompson and Craig Young - will be at a World Cup for the first time.

Five extra fast bowlers were taken to Dubai and they will remain with the squad to help them in their preparation.

"We've got five extra seamers with the World Cup squad here in Dubai," head coach Phil Simmons confirmed.

"Max Sorensen, Graeme McCarter, Eddie Richardson, Tyrone Kane and Barry McCarthy will all bowl in the nets and will provide a great resource in our build-up."

And he added that Ireland would adopt a similar policy during the World Cup, where they will have reserve players in Australia and New Zealand ready to step in should injuries occur.

Ireland are placed in Pool B of the tournament, which gets underway in February.

They play the West Indies (16th February), United Arab Emirates (25th February), South Africa (3rd March), Zimbabwe (7th March), India (10th March) and Pakistan (15th March).

They will also play warm-ups in Sydney against Scotland and Bangladesh on 10th and 12th February.

After the tri-series in Dubai, Ireland will fly home before heading to Sydney in January for a training camp and one-day fixture against Sydney-based club Randwick Petersham.

Ireland World Cup squad: William Porterfield (captain), Andrew Balbirnie, Peter Chase, Alex Cusack, George Dockrell, Ed Joyce, Andrew McBrine, John Mooney, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O'Brien, Niall O'Brien, Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson, Gary Wilson, Craig Young

© Cricket World 2015


Bails & Badger - The Slog Sweep